Funfetti Baked Oats

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

 

Did you ever have one of those mornings, the day after a celebration, when you open the fridge to see whats for breakfast and you see the leftover cake? And then you have cake for breakfast then you think about cake for breakfast but decide on Raisin Bran instead? 😉

photo 1-57

 

Well, what if I told you that you can have cake for breakfast? What if I told you its even better for you than Raisin Bran? Do you believe me yet?

But doesn’t a soft, warm, sweet, fresh from the oven cake, loaded with sprinkles and sweet creamy frosting all to yourself sound good? Especially for breakfast??

photo 4-53

 

I thought so 🙂

photo 5-28

 

This came out even better than I imagined:) Not like oatmeal at all, the oats practically disappeared and baked into the cake, leaving me with a soft, sweet fluffy birthday cake for breakfast, with a slight banana flavor, that could have easily passed for dessert. I could seriously bake a loaf of this. Or a batch of cupcakes. mmmm…..

Easily my favorite breakfast in a long time!

Funfetti Baked Oats

serves 1. This could easily be multiplied for a bigger cake that you actually slice, or bake into funfetti cupcakes muffins

  • 1/3 C. old fashioned oats
  • 1 T. coconut flour
  • 1 tsp flax seeds
  • dash salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 C. mashed banana
  • 1/4 C. almond milk
  • tiny splash apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 T. maple syrup
  • 1/2 T. cashew butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • optional: Additional sweetener to taste (depends on how ripe your banana is)
  • Sprinkles!!!
  • ‘frosting’ of choice -cashew butter, other nut butter, soy yogurt, etc.

Pre heat oven to 375. In a small bowl, combine oats through salt. In a separate bowl, mix wet ingredients, stirring until well combined. Add wet to dry and mix well. Add sprinkles and stir until evenly dispersed. Pour into a lightly greased ramekin (or muffin containers) and bake for 20-25 minutes:) Allow to cool for a few minutes before eating, or popping out of container if you wish.

photo 5-29

 

Naked cake:)

photo 3-59Frosted (with cashew butter) cake

photo 1-59Now its a Birthday Cake:)

photo 2-64

photo 3-61

photo 5-30

a delicious birthday cake:)

7 thoughts on “Funfetti Baked Oats

  1. Ok, so I’ve never been a huge fan of the IDEA of baked oatmeal for breakfast (mainly, because most days I wake up STARVING and have absolutely NO patience), but you just sold me on this…pretty sure it was the sprinkles!! 😉 YUM!!

    • Haha thats the hardest part!! I made myself a smoothie to sip on while I waited (impatiently, I might add). Sprinkles make all the difference though! I hope you like it!!

  2. Pingback: The Cake that Wasn’t…. | Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

  4. Pingback: Favorite Breakfast Recipes - Humorous Homemaking

Leave a comment