Birthday Pancakes

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

 

Can I tell you a secret?

photo 2-65

 

This is the first time I’ve ever made my own pancake recipe…

Can I tell you another secret??

photo 3-65

 

They almost failed. Actually, I was about 90% sure they had failed, which made me horribly upset because I promised that I would come up with a new recipe every day and if this failed I would have no recipe for today and I really should start testing recipes in advance before making promises I can’t keep and also I shouldn’t have the griddle too hot when I make pancakes because they burn really easily.

photo 5-33

 

But it’s okay, because I didn’t burn the other side. And they tasted like buttery cakey goodness and almost didn’t even need frosting.

photo 5-31

 

Sure they are a little, homely, and maybe not the most fluffy pancakes ever…

photo 3-63

 

BUT I MADE PANCAKES THAT TASTE LIKE BIRTHDAYS AND RAINBOWS SO ITS OKAY!!!

(whew, I feel better now;) 

Birthday Pancakes

  • 1/4 C. Oat flour (i ground my own in the food processor)
  • 2 T. coconut flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp xanthan gum
  • dash salt
  • 2 tsp chia seeds plus 2 T  warm water
  • 1/3 C. almond milk plus a tiny splash of apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 C. mashed banana
  • 1/2 T. cashew butter
  • 1/2 T. maple syrup
  • additional sweetener of choice to taste
  • SPRINKLES

“frosting”

  • 1-2 T. cashew butter, melted
  • 1-2  T. almond milk
  • vanilla and sweetener, optional

Mix together the chia and water, set aside to thicken. Mix almond milk and vinegar and set aside to ‘curdle’. In a small bowl, mix the dry ingredients. In a separate small bowl, mix the mashed banana and cashew butter, then add the chia egg, milk, extracts and sweetener and stir until combined. Mix the wet into the dry then add your sprinkles!! scoop into 4-5 pancakes on a hot, lightly sprayed griddle or pan and cook 3-5 minutes on each side (or until done). For the frosting simply mix the ingredients together and pour on your pancakes to enjoy!!

photo 3-63

 

So you see, frosting and sprinkles cover up any potential mishaps…

photo 1-64

 

And you will always be left with buttery Birthday (pan)cake for breakfast:)

Before you go, can I tell you one last secret??

photo 4-58

 

Make sure you have a lot of extra frosting waiting for after the photoshoot:)

4 thoughts on “Birthday Pancakes

  1. PANCAKES THAT TASTE LIKE BIRTHDAYS AND RAINBOWS ERMAHGERD!! 😀 I loved this post! I find it quite impressive that you are able to come up with a new recipe every day! My creative capacity is much different. Do you know anything I could sub in for the xanthan gum in the pancakes, or should I finally cave and just buy myself some o’ that? (It seems to be everywhere in the blogosphere…)

    • Hahaha thank you!!! I’m, I’m not sure that you can sub anything for the xanthan (unless maybe gaur gum?)I might just leave it out and see how goes it. But you should totally get some because its awesome sauce…it makes really thick awesome sauce haha!

  2. Pingback: The Cake that Wasn’t…. | Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

