The Cake that Wasn’t….

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

 

 

And it comes to an end…

Remember how I said that I was going to end this week with a cake recipe to knock your sprinkles off? Well…..

973769_534094029980130_204715441_n

 

I really should start testing recipes in advance. Therefore, I, alas, do not have a cake recipe for you.

Fear Not!!! I shall not go cake less on mine own birthday!!

I have a birthday cake version of Michelle’s Pretty Lemon Cake in the oven…

raspberrylemoncoconutca

 

(Lovely Photo from Peachy Palate)

Which I added some sweetener to to make more of a dessert cake, then baked it in a bundt pan because its pretty…

And I’m going to top it with a fluffy meringue/whipped cream of this sort:

8047506198_ab121695cd_o

 

(Wing it Vegan)

And more berries, likely:) I’ll show you pictures later!

Instead, lets do a roundup of the recipes I did make this week!!

To kick things off, I dusted off my ice cream machine and created a lovely

photo 5-23

Birthday Cake Ice Cream!!

Then I decided I wanted things a little less frozen, and created

photo 3-55

Cake Batter Milkshake

Things got a little heated once I turned on my oven for these

photo 3-57

Funfetti Cookies

Not that I minded, they were one of my favorite recipes I made this whole week!! I recommend eating them warm, topped with cashew butter, or made into an ice cream sandwich with the cake batter ice cream or a ‘whoopee pie’ of sorts with extra cookie dough 🙂

photo 3-58

Because these cookies rock unbaked too 🙂

It was back to breakfast with a personal birthday cake when I made my Funfetti Baked Oats

photo 1-59

Which were delicious and, now that I think about it, could totally have been adapted into a full size cake recipe 😉 or cupcakes!!!

mmmm…. cupcakes….mmmmm cake for breakfast….do it.

A cake stacked high was next on my list

photo 4-56

Birthday Cake Pancakes!! They may have almost failed, but their delicious butteriness (and loads of sweet ‘frosting) saved them from pancake destruction. Not that they lasted long anyway…..

And to finish off the week, I went the easy route

photo 4-59

A prep- ahead Birthday Cake Parfait was just what I needed on a hot hot day at the end of a long week in the kitchen:)

I hope your weekend is going well!!

Whats Your Favorite Birthday Treat?  Favorite flavor of Cake?? Although it may not seem as such (based on all of the vanilla and sprinkles recipes) My personal favorite is fresh and fruity!! I love lemon cakes, and I used to enjoy angel food cake topped with fresh strawberries (which I attempted to veganize but it fell from heaven alas).

Leave a Reply

