Funfetti Cookies

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

So I’ve made Ice Cream, I’ve made a milkshake, I think its about time to turn on the oven!!!

photo 1-55

These cookies are the best ever. I’m serious. Even if they weren’t funfetti (that makes them super amazing because sprinkles.), they are still the best ever! You know why? They have a secret ingredient that makes them the softest, fluffiest most delicious cookies ever. You wanna know the secret???

photo 3-57

Garbanzo Beans.

No! Please don’t leave!! They are so delicious!!! I got the idea from the Purple Bird Blog I made her cookies last year and fell in love. So soft and fluffy and amazing without normal cookie ingredients! (who wants to use normal stuff? Thats booorrriiinngg!!! haha)

So I decided to make funfetti cookies, using cashew butter for it’s sweet, buttery, frosting flavor, vanilla and almond extracts, and of course, SPRINKLES. Duh.

photo 1-55

 

 

Secret Ingredient Funfetti Cookies

This is a small batch, meaning 9-10 cookies. You can easily double or triple the recipe!! I highly recommend it actually, so you can have some dough for eating;)

  • 1 C. cooked chickpeas, rinsed well
  • 2 T. cashew butter
  • 1 T. coconut flour
  • 1T. maple syrup
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • additional dry sweetener to taste (1-2 T. sugar, erythritol, 1/2-1 tsp stevia…)
  • 1-2 T. almond milk
  • SPRINKLES!!

Preheat oven to 375. In a food processor, blend everything (chickpeas through salt) together. Add almond milk, 1 Tablespoon at a time, until smooth (think hummus) but not too sticky:) adjust your sweetener to taste, add sprinkles and….

WAIT!!

photo 1-56

You know, you could stop right here:) Its really delicious as Funfetti dip!!

photo 2-61

Eat it with a spoon. I dare you. 🙂 But, if you have self restraint (or make a double batch…)

photo 5-27

Bake for 13-15 minutes!! These get really puffy, so if you want them cookie shaped, flatten around the 10 minute mark 🙂

Now, let them cool….

photo 1-54

 

Eat them plain, or top them with cheater frosting aka cashew butter:)

photo 4-51

 

photo 3-56

 

(Tangent. My hands are orange all year round. #addictedtosquash #andsweetpotatoes. My friends call me the carrot. Un-Tangent)

 

photo 4-50

 

LOOK AT THAT!! look at how soft and delicious it is!!! Dare I say…moist? (well do you have a better word? Succulent? ew. no.) It reminds me of those soft sugar cookies with the addictive pink frosting from the grocery store. No, the cookie part tastes better, but you know how soft those things are???

photo 2-59

 

Yeah. I bet these would be awesome as an ice cream sandwich with Birthday Cake Ice Cream🙂 Or crumbled on top of a Milkshake.

Or just in your tummy, thats good too 😉

6 thoughts on “Funfetti Cookies

    • Thank You!! I hope you like these if you try them! Haha I’ve just been using some old wrapping tissue from presents past plus colored paper:) Its so quick and cheap 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Cake that Wasn’t…. | Life Hands You Limes

  2. These look great! I have to make them for my girlfriend’s upcoming birthday! One question for you – I’ve never used cashew butter or coconut flour… Do you think I could sub the coconut flour for regular?

    • Hi Leah!! Normally coconut flour is a hard one to replace, but in the case of these cookies the amount is small and the liquid is dependent on how much the recipe needs when you make it! Go ahead and use another flour (the recipe I was inspired by used brown rice flour) and be careful about the almond milk. If its too wet, just add a touch more flour. As for the cashew butter, I used it for its mild and buttery taste, but any nut butter works fine! I make these as chocolate chip cookies with almond butter and they are delicious! Peanut butter, pecan butter, hazelnut butter etc would leave a flavor of that nut in the cookie, but if you want that go ahead!! They are very customizable 🙂 Enjoy!

  3. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

