Peppermint Dreams

As of today at 12:05, I am finally on Christmas Break. Oh man that was hard. I turned in my AP Calculus final, held back the tears, and came home to let my brain melt in front of Christmas movies. Now let the season really begin!

To me, Christmas has always been filled with trees and movies and crackling fire places. Stirring your cocoa with a candy cane and setting up the nativity scene. Christmas morning was the best, and I knew Santa was real because he left glittery, sooty bootprints from the fireplace to the half eaten cookies and finally to the tree.

Christmas songs, comforting smells, cozy blankets, and warm fuzzy feelings.

And Candy Canes.

IMG_0425

Since I was a little girl, Candy Cane Ice Cream has been my absolutely, positootly favorite ice cream ever. And it only comes this time of year.

I remember almost daily at grandma’s house, coming home from school and getting a nice big bowl of bright pink, creamy peppermint ice cream studded with red and green candy cane bits. Even better when the ice cream melted and became candy cane soup. (I may have set my ice cream out and ‘forgotten’ about it on purpose to have said ice cream soup). Needless to say, this was the good stuff. Mint chip doesn’t even come close.

IMG_0433

So of course I was sad when, of all the new alternative ice creams they have come out with, there is still no candy cane. Whats up with that? I need my seasonal pink ice cream!!!

IMG_0432

I also need lots of fuzzy blankets to keep me warm while I eat this ice cream. Or I’ll just let it melt and have candy cane soup 🙂

Candy Cane Ice Cream

  • 1 C. roasted japanese sweet potato, peeled
  • 1/3 C. steamed or roasted beets
  • 1 package silken lite tofu
  • 2 T. almond, cashew, or coconut butter (I used Justin’s Vanilla Almond butter -good decision)
  • 1 C. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 Tbs vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 tsp peppermint extract
  • 1-1 1/2 tsp uncut stevia
  • 1/2 Tbs. xanthan gum
  • 2-4 candy canes (optional)

Put everything except candy canes in a high powered blender (Vitamix) and blend until creamy!! Put in fridge to chill (it helps the ice cream freeze faster). Put into ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturers directions. Meanwhile, crush your candy canes, if using, with a knife or food processor. When the ice cream is nearly done, add the crushed candy canes to the machine to mix it all together. Keep in the freezer 🙂

IMG_0441

 

 

Can I just say…Nailed It. Creamy, sweet, minty, studded with bits of candy cane! Christmas in a bowl my friends, Christmas in a bowl.

I love this with a little dark chocolate sauce on top (dark cocoa powder plus chocolate stevia and almond milk), its like a candy cane peppermint patty!

This is also really good as candy cane pudding, just don’t put it in the ice cream maker and keep in the fridge!!

IMG_0429

Now to go make some tea to warm back up….Merry (Almost) Christmas!!

8 thoughts on “Peppermint Dreams

  1. Oh my goodness- I love love love this recipe! It looked so good that I figured it had to have been loaded with candy canes or cream or food dye or something!! I love that you use beets:)

  2. Pingback: 45 Holiday Recipes - Foodie Fiasco

  3. Pingback: Holiday Desserts Roundup! « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a comment