MIM(last summer)M

Le sigh….today marks the beginning of my last week of summer vacation…made even worse by the fact that this is my last summer vacation as a child in the public school system. Yep. 7 more days until I am a senior -where did the time go?!? Oh well, at least this weekend was a really good one!! (Also go visit Katie to see the marvelousness of blogworld!!)

I’ve been making the most of my last few lazy mornings, lounging in jammies with a large mug of hot drink and blog reading…photo-204Granted its still at 8 in the morning (early for the average teenager, but I am not the average teenager. I wake up at 7:15 onmyown)On the morning that this was taken, I discovered a new favorite blog…The Oatmeal Artist   .I swear, even though I’ve been on a smoothie bowl kick lately due to the lovely heat of Sacramento summers, the second it cools down I am making every single one of her recipes!photo-205Unfortunately I also have been forced to actually write the first essay I’ve written since, oh, May. Ha I’m meeting up with a friend today to finish our summer homework together.photo-207But back to the marvelous! I am finally getting my driving hours in! On Friday my daddy picked me up and I drove 2 hours north for lunch, then another hour up to a pretty dam, then back home -longest drive of my life!! But I didn’t kill anybody! Whoo!!!! This picture is just because I find it extremely humorous how small I am. The seat has to go all the way forward and up and upright for me to drive, and I often forget to put it back afterwards. AKA nobody can sit (slash get in the car) there after me 🙂photo-206Marvelous is finally finding heart shaped sunglasses!!! I’ve been on the search for them for months, and I finally found them -as the last, super discounted pair at Delia’s for $3!photo-208Also marvelous? Coming home to big packages addressed to me!! Something is in store for you guys soon!!!photo-213Chocolate cake, just because!! Well, my older sister and her boyfriend are doing the 21-day vegan kickstart, and 2 weeks in they miss dessert. So we had them over for lunch and a baking day (Since I am the head baker in the family, I gladly took Brie under my wing 😉 ) Its funny, after being vegan for so long the little tricks I take for granted, such as a flax egg or avocado mousse, that are simply magic to a new vegan! Afterwards we watched Vegucated with them, and then discussed human rights and equality etc. Its funny because we grew up in a very conservative family, yet all 3 of us kids are becoming more liberal and activist-y. Its fun! hahaphoto-211Speaking of activism, I forced persuaded my mom to buy reusable straws and they came!! We got some normal, and some with little spoons on the end! I love them!! I also went clothes shopping at a consignment store and today we are going to Target and I’m planning on getting another trash bin for compost 🙂 I’ve been in save-the-earth mode since YEA Camp haha! On a slightly related note, yard sales rule. I got a table, pretty bowl, and ice cream dish for $1.25!photo-210This stuff. Have you tried this? Its bomb.com !! Haha but really, it tastes awesome, plus its not chock full of sugar and twenty thousand ingredients like most iced coffees, its literally espresso, almond milk (almonds, water), and sugar, and the stats are not bad -like 10 grams of sugar which is no more than you would find in most sweetened plant milks! I made ice cream with it.photo-212Yesterday was raw-some (Bahaha I’m punny…) We went to a Sac vegan chef challenge planning meeting at Maria‘s house and she made some raw wraps and raw brownies (and I also ate too much watermelon…again) while we mapped this year’s challenge out (its gonna be good this year!!), then we all went to a raw restaurant called The Green Boheme for dinner for Jed’s (team veg captain) birthday – my mom and I shared the tortilla soup and raw enchiladas -delishphoto-209The birthday boy and his raw ice cream sandwich (with a not raw candle 😉 ) Happy Birthday Jed!!So that was my weekend, and now I’m off to make the most of my last week of summer vacation as a child…I know I’m being dramatic but I am a dramatic person haha!!
And don’t forget to enter the Journey Bar Giveaway!!!!!!!! You have 2 more days!!!!!!

9 thoughts on “MIM(last summer)M

  1. You look super cute in those sunglasses! 🙂 And yeah, I come from a very conservative family as well–so most of my political views, not to mention daily eats, are, ahem, interesting to them… 😉 Arguing ensues sometimes, but I say green smoothies are worth it.

    • haha thanks!! bahaha I know exactly what you mean-I’ve dodged a few (thousand) bullets in both arenas….And yes, green smoothies are ALWAYS worth it! (especially because the extra keratin-which there is even more of in the greens-turns you orange!!! 😀 )

  2. First of all, thanks for visiting my blog!! (: You have the prettiest hair ever. I am so jealous. I can’t believe you have summer homework… that totally stinks! I only have summer homework because I chose to take a class online that I can’t fit into my schedule. I have heart shaped sunglasses too- they are the best thing ever. I love the pattern of yours. That vegan cake looks delicious. I’m trying to eat less meat after watching Food Inc and discovering the secrets 😦 I’ve only had meat twice this week, and I really don’t miss it. I love the amount of variety you have despite eating vegan!!

Leave a Reply

