WIAW like, all the time.

 

So I’ve lately kinda gotten into the habit of doing WIAW posts every-other-Wednesday (or less often), but then I have so many pictures that these things run kind of long. And I’ve been eating variations of similar things a lot, so its just kind of a lot of repeat pictures. I mean, lately its been smoothies, salads, and anything I can eat with my hands. And dessert. Like, all the time.

 

So what do I mean by that? Well lets start at breakfast…

photo 2-105

Smoothie Bowl

photo 1-95

Smoothie Bowl

photo 2-101

Acai Bowl (from a restaurant in Santa Cruz, but you know…still.)

photo 1-100

Aaannndddd once in a while, oatmeal. But still topped, as though it is a smoothie bowl. Yes, this is carrot-ginger topped with green apple. I’m weird.

photo 1-98

but on the days I didn’t have a smoothie for breakfast, I will usually have one in the afternoon. Lately I’ve been obsessed with a matcha-melon-mint combo with frozen cantaloupe, coconut water, a bit of banana, fresh mint, lemon, ginger, matcha powder, and spinach. mmmm…. so good! Plus it helps soothe my tummy whenever I OD on…

photo 4-88

Kabocha. Which happens like, all the time. 😉

photo 2-104

Kombucha (melon, on tap) helps too. Plus I like this glass. tangent alert.

photo 4-93photo 2-100photo 3-100

What? I just like fruit and veggies okay??

photo 4-90Sometimes I get creative, and set out the stuff for wraps…Chard wraps with brown rice, sweet potato, beans and veggies.photo 5-63

The giant chard made for a chipotle burrito worthy wrap ohmygosh.

photo 5-64photo 5-65

The same concept goes for fajita night (also: if you cook lentils and flavor them like refried beans, they serve as refried beans.)

photo 5-61

I’ve also made a lot of veggie burgers. Jen’s triple bean chili burgers are ah-mazing btw

 

photo 2-107

 

 

Oh oh! And I made more veggie burgers for my little sister’s B-day BBQ – my big sister and her boyfriend are doing the 21-day vegan kickstart so I decided to make sure there was food for us

I can’t believe another year has passed. Just yesterday I was writing this post for her, and now she is 5 years old and starting Kindergarten in a week!!! (she starts kindergarten the same year I start senior year -how cute is that!)

photo 3-102

 

 

Nothing says Happy Birthday like a decapitated unicorn hanging over a swarm of children fighting over it’s candy insides…Pinatas are violent….hahaha

 

photo 4-94

 

 

I also made lemon cupcakes with a raspberry ‘frosting’

Oh yeah….about dessert

 

photo 5-66

 

 

Sometimes I eat it in the afternoon -peach soft serve-you know, when I’m not eating a smoothie. Our Vitamix has been feeling the love

 

photo 2-106

 

 

or straight out of the freezer – homemade chocolate covered bananas topped with PB2

 

photo 5-67

 

 

Sometimes I experiment and prove that you can make chocolate pudding out of just about anything. Like this clean-out-the-fridge version with avocado, leftover squash, leftover black beans, leftover shredded veggies, almond milk, cocoa powder, banana, and something sweet. and you know, vanilla, salt, xanthan gum etc etc. I must be magic or something because this was delicious haha!

 

photo 5-62

 

 

Sometimes I get fancy -banana bread baked in a cake pan, topped with a PB2 ‘frosting’ and crushed chocolate chips

 

photo 4-91

 

 

We have had a lot of bananas on hand lately, after all….6 lbs, but SHOOT IT WAS 99 CENTS!!! (hahaha….) The rest all got frozen

 

photo 2-102

 

And sometimes, I’m just thankful that cookies are kind of hard to mess up. Like when you heat the oven almost 100 degrees hotter than the recipe called for. Sweet potatoes may be cooked at 425, but cookies should be at 350…Thank goodness they were fine haha!!

photo 4-92

 

 

And don’t forget to enter my JOURNEY BAR GIVEAWAY!!!!! I’ll announce a winner next week, so keep those entries coming like, all the time!!!!!!!!

Do you tend to just repeat the same things over and over (and over?)

6 thoughts on “WIAW like, all the time.

    • Thanks! haha I just kind of throw stuff together until it tastes good-I’ve gotten much better at it than in the beginning…when I first tried cooking for myself it was lots of stir fries and lots of canned soup haha.

    • yeah!! I just cooked them in water and garlic, then once they were done I added lots of cumin, garlic, onion powder, a bit of chile powder and some salt 🙂 super duper easy, and you don’t even have to ‘refry’ them because they are already mushy!!

  1. I love the idea of doing lentils like refried beans! I don’t love lentils as is but I like that they have so much protein so I’ll have to try them like this. The giant chard wrap looks good too–lettuce wraps are always fun.

    • I love lentils -and I really love that they are easier to digest (read no bloat) than beans 🙂 the trick to make anything taste like refried beans is lots of cumin!

Leave a Reply

