Journey Bar Review!!

EDIT: This giveaway is now closed!!! Find out if you won here!

 

A few weeks ago, Journey sent me a sampling of their savory nutrition bars to review

photo 2-99

I’ve been wanting to see what Journey Bars were all about for a while now, so I was so excited to have the chance to try them!

What are Journey Bars? They are savory nutrition bars packed with whole grains, almonds,  and real herbs and spices that are all natural, gluten and soy free, vegan, and non-gmo (!!). Oh yeah, and did I mention they are so so delicious!!

The first bar I tore into was my favorite, Rosemary. I grabbed it out the door on the way to a farmers market

photo 1-93

ingredients:  whole grain blend (gluten-free oats, organic buckwheat, organic flaxseed), organic tapioca syrup, almonds, whole ancient grain crisps (amaranth, quinoa, brown rice), pea protein isolate, vegetable glycerin, plum puree, non-gmo canola oil, water, pumpkin, sea salt, chicory root, spices, natural flavor, baking soda, onion powder, garlic powder, citric acid.  CONTAINS: almonds

photo 2-98

I noticed right away that this was no ordinary bar! I opened the package and it reminded me of a dense bread or thick flatbread/muffin. Just ripping open the wrapper I was hit with the scent of rosemary (which justsohappens to be my favorite herb) and this bar was so so good! Slightly sweet, mostly savory and packed with that lovely rosemary. mmm. just mmmm.

Next I tried the Sesame Ginger after a hilly run (which is why it has the coolest picture-which I took whilst imagining some cool commercial involving hiking and mountains and then this picture saying “where will Journey take you?”)

photo 3-97

ingredients: whole grain and seed blend (gluten-free oats, organic buckwheat, sesame seeds), organic tapioca syrup, almonds, whole ancient grain crisps (amaranth, quinoa, brown rice), pea protein isolate, vegetable glycerin, non-gmo canola oil, plum puree, water, pumpkin, chicory root, sea salt, natural flavor, baking soda, onion powder, garlic powder, citric acid, spices.  CONTAINS: almonds, sesame

this was also delicious! toasty from the sesame, a little freshness from the ginger (though it could have used a bit more ginger) and with that same tiny hit of sweetness as the rosemary.

Next up was the Coconut Curry, my second favorite

photo 4-87

ingredients:  whole grain blend (gluten-free oats, organic buckwheat, organic flaxseed), organic tapioca syrup, almonds, whole ancient grain crisps (amaranth, quinoa, brown rice), pea protein isolate, vegetable glycerin, plum puree, non-gmo canola oil, water, coconut, chicory root, spices, baking soda, natural flavor, chili powder (ground chiles, paprika, salt, spices, garlic), citric acid.  CONTAINS: almonds, coconut

This bar was so different! I was a little nervous because-even though I LOVE curry-I am a spicy wimp and curry can get spicy, but this was perfect! Not too spicy, just perfectly Indian spiced and delicious! Also it was yellow, meaning it had turmeric (duh, curry powder haha), which I’ve heard is awesome for muscle recovery. I’d get this one again!

And, last but not least I tasted the Pizza Marinara!

photo 2-97

ingredients:  whole grain blend (gluten-free oats, organic buckwheat, organic flaxseed), organic tapioca syrup, almonds, whole ancient grain crisps (amaranth, quinoa, brown rice), pea protein isolate, vegetable glycerin, non-gmo canola oil, plum puree, water, tomato powder, natural flavor, onion powder, sea salt, chicory root, garlic powder, baking soda, spices, citric acid.  CONTAINS: almonds

photo 3-96

This one did actually remind me of marinara! It was like a tomatoey version of the rosemary, and a great way to go if you are ever having a pizza sauce craving (that happened to me once…) and don’t want all the heavy cheese. Personally I still would go for the rosemary, but this one was still delicious.

But wait? Wasn’t I sent 5 bars? Weeellll I couldn’t find the Sea Salt, and soon found out that my mom had eaten it while I was gone. Oops. She said “it was pretty good. savory and salty”. Hahaha!

What excites me most about Journey Bars is that they are something different. Alot of bars tend to be sugar laden (like 3 or 4 sources of sugar and 14-30 grams per bar?! Thats dessert people!), stickymeltygooey (one word.), and have ingredients lists that go on. for. days. Did I mention they are all sweet? Like, too sweet? Not Journey Bars! These say nutrition bars and they mean it-without sacrificing flavor or texture! No fake colors or flavors or sweeteners. They stand up to the heat of a hike in the sun without turning into melted candy bar status, and the stats are great! This is the nutrition info for the Rosemary

Screen Shot 2013-07-29 at 4.37.46 PM

There is a good balance of fats, carbs, and protein for sustained energy/recovery without overdoing the sugar, plus its full of filling fiber (as much as a bowl of oatmeal!)! The only thing is that the sodium is a bit high, but considering that it is a savory bar I can’t argue with that! A bar that feels like a snack and not dessert, and doesn’t trigger a raging sweet tooth for the rest of the day – you feel satisfied after one of these unique bars!

And as if Journey couldn’t get any better, they care about making a positive impact on the world! They support the national parks conservation association, and work to provide food, shelter, love and education to orphans in Haiti! Plus they are all non-gmo and non of them contain palm oil! It’s like the active activist’s dream bar!

But wait -There’s more!! The lovely people at Journey bar wants to give one of you a sample pack with one of each flavor (thats 5 whole bars total!)!!! How awesome is that?

To enter:  Giveaway is now closed

I will randomly choose a winner next Wednesday (the 7th). Good luck everyone!

16 thoughts on “Journey Bar Review!!

  1. Pizza marinara sounds amazing! I crave Italian foods…haha. And I would take it on a journey through Rome….I wish. 😉

  2. Oooh! I’ve heard of these before and always wanted to try them – especially since I am a huge fan of savory snacks in general! 🙂
    I’d be most interested in trying the pizza marinara thing… I love tomatoes haha! 😀

  3. Pingback: WIAW like, all the time. | Life Hands You Limes

  4. Pingback: MIM(last summer)M | Life Hands You Limes

  5. Pingback: WIAW beginning of the end | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

