Cake Batter Milkshake

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

Confession: I had a milkshake for breakfast this morning. Ok I also had cake. Well, cake batter. Confused?

photo-144

Did you forget it was birthday week already?? Of course I had cake batter for breakfast, I’m taking every chance I get!!

This recipe may seem like a lot of trouble for a smoothie  milkshake, which I get. Lots of ingredients yada yada. But it is soo good! And I mean, cake batter you can eat for breakfast and not get a stomach ache from?!? Count me in!!

photo 3-55

Obviously, I started with bananas, because thats the base of like, every sweet smoothie ever amiright? Then oats for cakeiness, a date for buttery sweetness, extracts and baking powder for authenticity, coconut and cashew butter for creamy, buttery goodness…

photo 1-53

And then things got a little strange (but good). It needed something…for buttery flavor and that raw, egg yolk-y flavor (forgive me vegan police, I said it needed yolk! oops…) So I added a bit of nutritional yeast and voila!! Cake batter!! I think yes.

I topped mine with more melted cashew butter, sprinkles, and cereal, but it would also be delicious with extra oats, fresh berries, banana, chocolate, frosting…ya know!! whatever your little birthday loving heart desires! 😉

Cake Batter Milkshake

  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 C. almond milk
  • 1 date
  • 1/3 C oats
  • 1 T. coconut shreds
  • 1 T. cashew butter
  • 1/2 tsp nutritional yeast (optional)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2-1 tsp xanthan gum (depending on thickness you want)
  • ice cubes and/or water -for thick or thin
  • optional: add a few drops of butter extract!!
  • SPRINKLES!!!
  • toppings (ic more cashew butter, sprinkles, oats, fruit, cereal, etc.)

Put everything except sprinkles in a blender and blend until creamy. Pour into a glass or a bowl (I opted for milkshake soup 😉 ) and top with toppings, and enjoy!!

photo 2-58

This was especially delicious when you got a bite of the melted cashew butter on top, it was like frosting 🙂 Yuummm…. (confession: I made a new batch of cashew butter specifically for this week)

photo 4-49

Then I topped it with Vanilla Sunrise cereal (which tastes like cupcakes in my opinion). It was the end of the box so I got maximum crumblies :D. Unfortunately, Its not as pretty with the cereal, because I lost the sprinkles!!

photo 5-24

Oh well. It was still delicious. Like replacing the milk in a bowl of cereal with cake batter. mmmm cake cereal 🙂

photo-144

On another note, I need more sprinkles my containers almost empty!!!! The horror!! The horror!!!!

In the mood for something a little thicker than a milkshake?? Try my Birthday Cake Ice Cream!!
photo 4-47

6 thoughts on “Cake Batter Milkshake

  1. Wow, that shake looks incredible delicious!! I definitely want to try it out sometime soon, maybe tomorrow…It is such a creative recipe, and certainly much healthier than a regular milkshake with tons of ice cream and (in some cases) artificial ingredients. Since I prefer to avoid eating dairy whenever possible, this is the perfect recipe for me!

  2. Pingback: WIAW summer (finally!) edition | Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: Funfetti Cookies | Life Hands You Limes

  4. Pingback: The Cake that Wasn’t…. | Life Hands You Limes

  5. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

