Birthday Week: Birthday Cake Ice Cream!

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

 

Its the beginning of Birthday Week!!! What is birthday week? Well, since my birthday is in 7 days, I decided to challenge myself to come up with a different, birthday themed recipe every day this week, all leading up to what I hope to be a cake that will knock your sprinkles off!!!

At first I thought, wouldn’t an entire week dedicated to my birthday come across as a little, well, self centered?

Then I thought, well, it is my blog, and it is my birthday, and since I am a princess…

5648_1024511831239_5292187_n

 

I decided to do it anyway. Besides, who doesn’t love their birthday?

More importantly, who doesn’t like sprinkles?!?!

To kick off birthday week, I thought I would combine the two ultimate party desserts: Cake and Ice Cream, into one delicious, creamy treat!!

photo 4-48

 

Birthday Cake Ice Cream!!!

Well, to be honest, its been sooo hot here lately, I didn’t really feel like baking. But the 102 degree days are supposed to give way to the low 90’s, so I think I’ll survive Birthday Week.

As long as I can eat this while I wait for the oven 😉

photo 4-48

 

I based the recipe loosely off of my previous ice cream recipes, and then I added sprinkles..

lots of sprinkles;) Because life is so much better with them!!

photo 2-56

 

Birthday Cake Ice Cream

  • 2 C. Cooked, peeled Japanese Sweet Potato
  • 2 T. Almond or Cashew butter
  • 2.5 C. almond milk (or nd milk of choice)
  • 2 T. Maple Syrup
  • 3 T. Vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/4 tsp butter extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 T. shredded coconut
  • 2 T. coconut flour
  • 1 T. xanthan gum
  • dash salt
  • sweetener of choice to taste (I used maybe 1-1 1/4 tsp stevia)
  • SPRINKLES!!!

Blend all ingredients very very well (like in a vitamix). Set in a container for a few hours or over night in the fridge to set and cool. When it’s ready, pour into your ice cream machine as per the instructions (I’m sure you could do this without a machine too, just freeze it and stir, freeze and stir). When it’s aaallllmmmost done, pour in your sprinkles. Seriously, don’t be shy with these ;). Once the sprinkles are all mixed in, scoop into a container and eat right away or freeze!!

photo 3-53

 

Happy almost birthday to meee…

photo 4-47

 

Happy almost birthday toooo meeee!!!

photo 2-55

 

Happy almost Birthday dear…myself….

photo 2-53

 

Happy almost birthday tooooo meeeeeeeee!!!!

974057_532156256840574_1460100520_n

 

mmmm….ice cream 😉

Stay tuned! Theres a lot more where this came from!

What is your favorite Birthday treat?

5 thoughts on “Birthday Week: Birthday Cake Ice Cream!

  1. Pingback: Cake Batter Milkshake | Life Hands You Limes

  2. Pingback: WIAW summer (finally!) edition | Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: Funfetti Cookies | Life Hands You Limes

  4. Pingback: The Cake that Wasn’t…. | Life Hands You Limes

  5. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

