Caramel Macchiato Almond Butter

aaannnnnndddd BREAK!!! Woah that was an intense month and a half. More 12-14 hour school days, show make up, curling irons, and AP tests than I ever want to encounter again. But its all over and I just have a nice, easy week and a half of school left. Then let summer begin!!! I promise I will be more present in the coming months, just you wait! You should see the amount of recipe ideas I have noted on my phone…

Don’t blame me. Blame Heather for raving about Vanilla Espresso Almond Butter. Then blame Sarah for being all amazing and creating delicious nut butter flavors that inspire me and make me want to be her nutty apprentice πŸ˜‰

photo 4-42

Okay okay. Then you can blame me πŸ˜‰

I tried the Wild Squirrel almond butter and it was delicious, but I figured it would be really easy to re create:) I was right! I made a delicious replica, but didn’t really write down the ingredient amounts.

photo-90Then I made a mocha version (which I called :AP Week Almond Butter), but the coffee was too strong. Plus I burned the almonds. Not good. The nut butter was good, but not what I was going for…

photo 1-44

But the idea of coffee and almond butter was burned into my mind. “What next?” I wondered…

Then I looked into our extracts container

photo 5-21

perfect.

photo 4-43

It came together pretty quickly, I only had to alter it once before it was perfect!

photo 3-45

And it got two thumbs up from my mom and my (tentative, “what is this??” before trying anything) step dad!!

photo 1-43

Caramel Macchiato Almond ButterΒ -makes 1 jar

Sweet, caramelly, java almond butter reminiscent of that famous Starbucks drink:) This is addictive. You are welcome πŸ™‚

  • 1 pound raw almonds (like 1 trader joes bag)
  • 2 T. ground coffee or espresso (NOT INSTANT)
  • 1 tsp caramel extract
  • 1 tsp coconut extract*
  • 1 tsp uncut stevia or sweetener to taste
  • dash salt

In a food processor, grind the almonds until they turn into butter. It may take a while, but it will butter-ify:) Add your flavors, pulse in, adjust flavors if nessecary, and store in a jar in the fridge πŸ™‚

photo 4-41

For further guidance on making almond butter check this out

photo 4-38

notes on the recipe:

  • raw almonds work best because they make a mild, sweet tasting butter. I have tried roasting my own almonds for coffee butter before and, while roasted almond butter is delicious, it didn’t really work with the flavor I was going for. The nuttiness was too strong (plus I over toasted the almonds, so that might’ve done something…)
  • don’t use instant coffee or espresso, the flavor is diluted and oddly toasty, not coffee-ish
  • I used coconut extract because I was out of vanilla, and the coconut gave a similar flavor. If you don’t have the coconut, defiantly use vanilla, and maybe start with 1/2 tsp then add more if it needs:)
  • Don’t have caramel? Add more vanilla for vanilla-latte almond butter! Or chocolate! Or Vanilla-Chocolate-Caramel! (ooooh…or just wait and I’ll get back with that one!)

photo 1-45

Its delicious in so many ways!!! Toast, oats, pancakes, baked goods, apples, pears, other fruit, mixed into yogurt with cocoa powder…

photo 4-39

and spoons. Betcha can’t guess which is my favorite??

11 thoughts on “Caramel Macchiato Almond Butter

  1. Wow, that almond butter looks absolutely delicious; I can’t wait to try it out!! Even though I never drink coffee, this flavor sounds awesome. Your pictures look great as well, much better than mine ever do:) Congratulations on making through the last month and a half; I hope you will enjoy the break. I am sure you did a fantastic job on all your AP exams, and danced beautifully in all your shows. I am looking forward to your upcoming posts!

    • haha thanks!! I’m just happy its all over and I can relax!! I just use my iPhone for pictures, ironically they always come out 96843x better than my point and shoot, and I hardly have to edit them, plus they load so much faster!

  2. Caramel Latte has been one of my favorite Nutty Butter creations, and I’m SO happy you made your own. With the lessons you are learning, I’d happily take you on as an apprentice. πŸ™‚ [Then I could teach you how to make nut butter taste like caramel WITHOUT any caramel extract…secrets…. ;)]

  3. Your coffe almond butters seriously make me jealous.
    Good thing I’ve convinced my mom’s best friend to bring me some espresso beans soon.
    Heheee. πŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Marvelous in my Monday | Life Hands You Limes

  5. Pingback: WIA-since my last WIAW… | Life Hands You Limes

  6. Pingback: And sometimes its WIAW | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

