WIAW: 1000 Cupcakes!!!

Happy Wednesday guys!!!!


This week i’m doing something a little different:) No, I didn’t eat 1000 cupcakes (though it sure felt like it 😉 ) I’m talking about Sacramento Vegan Challenge‘s event this past weekend, 1000 Vegan Cupcakes for Charity! (for Facebook/more fun and pictures click here 🙂 )

909055_509718609084339_1834484998_n

I’ll still show you what I ate though, because after the event we had a fancy 4 course vegan meal at the hotel that hosted the event:) Prepare for (cupcake) photo bombardment!!

1000 Vegan Cupcakes is a charity event where 12 bakers generously donated 50-100 vegan cupcakes in fun flavors (We had categories like Fun and Fruity, Eat your Veggies, Nuts and Nuggets, and Classic and Creative, with healthy (gluten free, low sugar/sugar free and oil free as subcategories-for every diet!). The cupcakes are sold to the public and the proceeds go to charities. We have guest judges to pick the winning cupcakes, and musical entertainment:)

photo 3-33

The theme this year was “Farm to Cupcake”, playing off the fact that Sacramento is the Farm to Table Capitol. Garden Tower generously donated a garden tower for our display, which was afterwards donated to the St John’s Women’s Shelter for their “Plates” program (a restaurant business that teaches homeless women the ins and outs of restaurant-ing to get them back on their feet).

We had 29 different flavors! I didn’t get a picture (or taste) of every single one, but I got quite a few!photo 3-34

photo 4-31

Almond Butter Cup 

photo 4-30

Molten Chocolate Raspberry and Lemon Avocado
photo 4-27

Chocolate with an avocado mint frosting (oil free)

photo 3-37

Chocolate Beet cupcake with a vanilla fennel ganache (gf, of, no added sugar)

photo 3-36

Carrot Walnut Cake (gf)

photo 3-32

Citrus Olive Oil

photo 3-31

Root Beer Float

photo 2-35

24K Karrot Cake with Sweet potato frosting

photo 2-33

Pancake Cupcake with Maple Frosting and Maple Tempeh Bacon

photo 2-32

photo 2-30

Orange Creamsicle

photo 3-30

Sno-Ball

photo 1-26

One of the Judging platters (groups of four judged each category to pick a winner)

photo 1-37

The ones I came home with. The ones pictured that you didn’t see before are Pink Lemonade, Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter,Orange Carrot, Strawberry Rhubarb, Hummingbird, and Apple Cinnamon.

Do I have to pick a favorite??? These are all gone now, sad. In order to try them all, my family cuts them into 3 so we try 3 cupcakes at a time haha!!

The only problem with the event was that it was supposed to be 3 hours, but we sold out of cupcakes after only and hour and 15 minutes!! So we finished the judging, picked the winners, cleaned up and went downstairs for dinner!

photo 1-24

photo 2-27photo 3-26

photo 2-26photo 4-24

photo 3-25photo 1-21

photo 3-23photo 4-21

It was all very delicious! My mom and I decided to get one of everything and share so we could try everything! I loved both appetizers and soups, but the Lentil-Tomato entree was by far my favorite, and I had the carrot cupcake because I love carrot cake, and my mom loves chocolate. The frosting was to die for!!!

photo 2-23

Yum. Can you believe, after all of that, this was the first cupcake I ate??? It was a very long day! My mom organized the event, so I was helping out from 8 in the morning till almost 10 at night!! It was well worth it though, we made $2500 for charities!! Woop!!!

For more recaps visit Leslie and Maria 🙂

So, What did you do this weekend????