WIAW: Let Me Explain

Woah woah woah. Woah. Woah it’s March?!? Just…woah. Holy cow I have midterms next week! *takes deeeeeep breath*

Happy WIAW guys!!!!!

Its GREEENNNNNNNN MONTH :D!Not that I have much of a problem with that…actually I get a little anxious if I don’t eat my veggies and greens, but that is a whole ‘bother post..I know I haven’t been as present on the blog as I’d like to be, and I know I haven’t posted a recipe since, like January 1st (which quite unsettles me), but I promise I am alive and well….Thus I’ve got some ‘splainin to do!!photo-53(blueberry pear oats and homemade raw cashew butter)photo-57caramel-nut apple oats with peanut and cashew butter -I couldn’t make up my mind this morning!!! (I literally stared at both jars while I was making breakfast and finally resorted to opening two jars-Im lazy so this was an extra step ugh 😉 )photo-54A breakfast that isn’t oatmeal whaaaa??? Guys-this is why I haven’t been posting many recipes. AKA what happens when you try to make cupcakes with too many weird ingredients and they are too healthy and muffin-like but also gummy, and your healthy ‘frosting’ is more like pudding so you mix them together and bake it and call it bread pudding breakfast *pause for breath*. And also you don’t really have any measurements so the successfully accidental lemon-blueberry-pear breakfast pudding shall forever be unblogged. (but it had golden beets and pears and potatoes in it heeheehee).Plus the pear was mushy and disappointing. So I turned the grocery bag-full into delicious cinnamon pear sauce. And that I do have a recipe for!! (just no pictures…yet)photo-62garbanzo beans ‘n greens scramble topped with ketchup and nooch with a Japanese sweet potato (best) topped with cinnamon and a drizzle of local raw honey (from one of my mom’s students -super fresh!)For reasons I shall soon explain, Ive been having a lot of quickie dinners aka a lot of sweet potatoes and stir-fries. That are anything but beautiful but I took a picture anyway -your welcome 😉photo-55Japanese sweet potato topped with 10 minute peanut curry (a quick meal fav). Oh heres a recipe!!!10 minute peanut curry

  • veggies of choice (i used here frozen kale, cauliflower, and peas > ding ding ding we have greens!)
  • garbanzo beans or other protein (beans, tofu, tempeh…)
  • 1-2 T peanut flour or peanut butter
  • splash of plain almond milk
  • ketchup
  • stone ground or dijon mustard (optional)
  • curry powder (I use boatloads) and gram masala

Heat your veggies and protein up in a pan, then add the almond milk, peanut flour, and ketchup. Mix it all together and add spices, mix around till everything is coated and serve atop potatoes, rice, quinoa, etc.

Thats it!! I discovered the ketchup/curry powder combo a year or so ago and its my favorite!! The peanut makes it that much better 🙂 Enjoy!!

photo-56

And an even faster dinner for a quicker turnaround night: Pre roasted sweet potato topped with orange glazed roasted chickpeas (pre created as well, but a friend’s recipe so I have no idea what the recipe is) and raw cauliflower. Strange and delicious

photo-52

 

Soy yogurt mixed with cookies n cream plant fusion protein powder, bananas and random cereals

photo-61

 

Snack of a green pear and cinnamon puffins

photo-58

 

A happy happy Lacey

photo-60

 

Practicing my decorating skills for a fundraiser dessert cabaret (chocolate cupcakes with my grandma’s frosting recipe -I don’t try to do healthy when I bake for normal people haha)

 

photo-59

 

And ending last night on a dancer’s high (Kendra, you know what I mean)

Now for my explaining!! I have been a terribly busy girl the past few days, but I am happy as could be! On Saturday I had a dance rehearsal for my spring musical (Bye Bye Birdie) for 3 hours, then I had to come home and bake the cupcakes for a fundraiser cabaret to raise money for said show (We made $1300 whooooo!!!!) Then yesterday I had an audition for a dance for our spring dance show at school and came home with a total dancers high. Its funny, I now have the privilege of dancing at school every day, but there is something completely different about putting on tights and a leotard and going to dance in the evening. The only way I can describe the feeling is you know how when you are a runner, on your days off your body somehow craves moving your legs? Well, I  ‘crave’ pointing my toes, extending my arms. I came home and put on my pointe shoes just for fun (which I never got to dance in because I had to quit before I started) and it was the best feeling in the world. To make it even better, I found out today that I made the dance (!!!) and was the only non-dance team girl to make the audition (double !!!).

Speaking of which, once April starts I doubt you will see much of me until June, my schedule is about to get crazy. Junior prom, Musical tech week, two weekends of shows, Music n Motion (dance team) audition week and audition day (which I have to choreograph for), a week to breath, then another tech week for my dance show combined with AP Exam week, then another weekend of shows for dance, then a short break, Finals, and finally summer (and sleep). And did I mention Im going on a field trip for Environmental science over spring break? haha yeah…

In other news -I was running the other day and then I felt a pain in my lower back/glute on the right side. From the sounds of google, I may have pinched my sciatic nerve. Its been a week and its better but not gone…any one ever done this before? Suggestions? I haven’t been able to run since, and this makes me sad…at least it doesn’t hurt when I dance!

Have you ever made a recipe success out of another recipe failure?

What’s your ‘dancers high’?

Do you have a crazy schedule in your future?

8 thoughts on “WIAW: Let Me Explain

  1. Haha, I do indeed know EXACTLY what that dancer’s high feels like!! There is no better feeling in the world:) I actually think I have may pinched my sciatic nerve a year or so ago, and, unfortunately, it did affect my dancing. Luckily, the pain didn’t last too long, and I now know to be extra careful to warm up properly before attempting any big leaps or extensions. You would have to ask a doctor to get “official” advice, but rest and putting ice packs on my hip area seemed to work best for me. On a food-related note, all your meals look incredibly delicious!! That super quick peanut curry recipe looks amazing; I love just about anything curry related. And all that squash would make me very happy as well:) I have a somewhat crazy schedule ahead of me; I have a math quiz today, next week is my pre-calculus midterm, I have a 7 page philosophy paper due on Sunday, a Spanish exam due on Sunday, and a biology exam in a couple weeks. But my spring break for my community college isn’t too far off…Your schedule sounds super busy–but fun as well. Congratulations on making the dance! That is awesome news:)

  2. Oh my god,you are such a beauty,Lacey!
    I’ve always been dreaming of dancing myself; especially ballet is something so wonderful and graceful in my eyes. In the end,I always felt too ugly,untalented,etc. to try it; too scared of the world thinking I was a fool. 😦

Leave a Reply

