WIAW: Random combinations -they happen

Happy (late to the party as always) WIAW guys!!!!

 

 

First of all…CONGRATS TO JENN!!!!! Yayyyyy a baby i love babies yayayayayayay!!!!!!!!

Okay, regaining composure…

So you see, my eats aren’t necessarily always conventional. Yes, I know Im vegan and this is blog world so that shouldn’t come as a shocker. I mean, when I first entered blog world I thought it was revolutionary to put nut butter on my oats, much less put them in a jar and now thats my favorite ever. But Im talking a little more extreme than that….like, lets-throw-random-things-together-and-see-how-it-turns-out foods. For example…
photo-36

This meal happened on a night that I was feeling the sick bug coming on, and doing everything in my power to ward it off. I roasted a head of garlic and stuck a few cloves with chickpeas and nutritional yeast to make super garlic hummus, and sautΓ©ed some kale (superfood) with mushrooms (vitamins) and lotsa potatoes of both sweet and yukon variety. yumm

photo-37

Followed by a cup of super antioxidant detox tea. Alas, my attempts were futile and a day home sick from school it was 😦

photo-32

The best mushrooms I have ever eaten…from a steakhouse? okay…

Its just proof that yes, a vegan really can eat anywhere!! They had portobello mushroom on the menu, I asked them to put it on their salad in place of the meat, no creamy dressing and roasted potatoes (no butter) on the side. Then I doused everything in BBQ sauce, because that is a miracle of a condiment. Sooo yeah.


photo-38

and here is what I mean about random meals aka leftover pasta salad ‘stir fried’ with quinoa, red onions, extra peas, spinach, and balsamic vinegar+Dijon mustard, notch, and black peppahhh πŸ˜‰ weird but hit the spot haha!

photo-35photo-43

Well this isn’t anything new, but I discovered a new favorite flavor combination!! Oats cooked with cinnamon, ginger, stevia, caramel and hazelnut extracts, and green apple. Its like a nutty caramel apple pie haha:)

photo-40

I always feel like a cool cat when I drink kombucha….and like I should be wearing yoga pants #typicalvegan πŸ˜‰

photo-39

Butternut squash ravioli with a homemade garlic basil pesto (cannellini beans, basil, garlic, nooch, lemon, salt, and zucchini) -Im getting quite good about making dinner for the family πŸ™‚
photo-46

And presentation! Here I made a lunch for my mother and I! I sauteed red onion and rainbow chard with some sweet pepper jelly and dijon mustard, on top of pinto beans and surrounded by golden beets and a sumo mandarin. It looked like sunshine πŸ™‚

ps have you ever had a sumo mandarin? Its a mandarin orange thats the size of a regular orange/bigger and it only comes out in late February/early March and its my faaaaaavvvvvvooooriteeee orange ever:) So tasty!

photo-44

Ugly but tasty soy yogurt bowl!!! Plain soy yogurt mixed with some cookies n cream plant fusion protein powder I won in Sarah‘s giveawayΒ topped with graham cracker crumblies, banana, and cinnamon. Plus I added some koala krispies (organic cocoa krispies) and a few chocolate almonds post pic. Yeah this was good πŸ™‚

photo-48

Dessert pudding parfait!! Chocolate tofu pudding (the way I make it it tastes like frosting, Ill post a recipe one day πŸ˜‰ ) layered with cereal and banana. This was delicious. I have nothing more to say.

photo-42

Sometimes we make chocolate cake for no apparent reason but to have chocolate cake, and experiment with ingredients. I think I am officially a chocolate person. (but only good, dark chocolate -none of that cheap junk what a waste of cocoa powder!!)This was a GF, add your own sweetener devils food cake mix that we made with (are you ready?) brown sugar, xylitol, almond butter, PB2, mashed banana, flax eggs, shredded apple, and chocolate chips, topped with a chocolate-banana-sweet potato frosting (uuhhh what don’t I make out of sweet potato?). It came out like a banana bread brownie. Really good….

photo-41

…But the frosting was my favorite part so I saved it for last πŸ˜‰

Anndd now I’ve got to go write an argumentative essay on the effects of social media on society. Yay AP Language. Love you all!!!!!

On a separate note (and coming up in a future post) Yesterday was my 2-year Veganniversary!!! (and also one full year since beginning my recovery). Boy time travels quickly!!

Do you eat your favorite part first or save the best for last? Im a best-for-last girl myself, always and forever πŸ™‚

Do you ever make weird food combos that make other people give you strange looks? only every day of my life!

12 thoughts on “WIAW: Random combinations -they happen

  1. Hahaha,I always save the best for last,too! It’s kinda funny when I eat soft boiled eggs cause obviously,the yolk is the best part… Eeeeh,yeah – messy! πŸ˜€
    And well,my food combos are weird 90% of the time… People keep asking me how I can even think of them actually,but seriously,they’re AMAZING! πŸ˜‰ They don’t know what they’re missing out on with their lack of creativity…

    • Right?? Making weird combos is like, half the fun!! And seeing their reactions(slash minds blown) is definately a bonus. I once impressed a friend by putting bell peppers in a bean burrito, and that’s not even creative haha!

  2. If only my random concoctions came out as beautifully looking as yours – it’s usually mush for me, tasty mush :D.

    Now that you’ve teased us by describing its wonderful taste you need to share your chocolate tofu pudding. Oh, and would you mind sending me a cake like the one you had? Thank you very much :).

    Always saving the best for last obviously! Also, weird food combos for the win!

    • Hahaha I would send it but I’m not sure how well it would travel πŸ˜‰ and as soon as I actually use consistent measurements for the pudding ill post it! Don’t worry I have my share of mushy meals as well- sometimes “kitchen sink” bowls are just better!!!

  3. I always save the best part for last, and I definitely eat strange combinations of food all the time! For example, I recently created some green monster almond butter–basically almond butter blended with spinach and banana. It turns out to be an ugly green color, but tastes amazing.That hummus/potato/kale/mushroom concoction looks absolutely delicious–even if it didn’t prevent you from getting sick;) I love drinking kombucha, and am usually wearing yoga pants when I do–mainly because I wear yoga pants 95% of the time anyway. They are much more comfortable than jeans:) We actually have some sumo mandarins sitting in our kitchen at this very moment, but I haven’t tried them yet. That chocolate cake looks incredibly amazing, and I am definitely the kind of person who eats the frosting last! I remember taking an online AP English Language class my sophomore year; I loved it:) Good luck with writing your essay!

    • Thanks! I saw your green monster AB and I am most definitely intrigued!!! On my “to make” list-actually all of your flavors are- especially the sweet potato one yummmmm:)

  4. I always save the best thing on my plate for last. πŸ™‚ It was actually kind of a “thing” with me throughout elementary school–I would always hoard my snack at snacktime for longer than everyone else, and I would draw out my lunch for as long as possible so I could have that good taste in my mouth of “the best thing”, lol πŸ™‚ I was on odd child, and food and I have had a weird relationship for as far back as I can remember!
    I do enjoy a lot of combinations others outside the blogging community would consider strange, but I’m not very good at coming up with them on my own 😦 I’m more of a “follower-and-mimicker” kind of girl! (Seriously, how did I not know about oatmeal before?? And almond butter? And sweet potatoes TOPPED with almond butter..?!!)

    • Haha right? I didn’t even know they could make peanut butter out of other nuts lol! Speaking of I hope your samples get there soon!!! πŸ™‚

    • It was decent but kinda bland. IMO raw almond and cashew butters are delicious stock, but peanut butters gotta have a little salt and or sugar or its meh. Wonderfully melty though!!!

Leave a Reply

