Artisana Review (and giveaway!!)

So a few weeks ago I contacted Artisana and asked to do a review of their nut butters, they happily obliged:)

IMG_1161

And then a week later I got a second package in the mail (double happy dance!)

IMG_1356

 

 

(the second package didn’t have the cacao butter, I just threw that in the picture haha)

In all, I was sent samples of their five superfood nut butters, raw coconut butter, raw cacao butter, raw cashew butter, and raw pecan butter. Let the tastings begin!!

First of all, I tried their Coconut butter on top of a tropical green smoothie.

IMG_1350

 

It had a wonderful coconutty flavor, but alas, I was not a fan (I like coconut as an accent, not a dominant flavor. I know-I’m weird) Of course, so many others have tried, and loved, coconut butter so don’t take my word for it haha!!

Next I tried their Cashew butter. Seeing as I had just discovered my love for cashew butter when I made my own, I was incredibly excited for this.

IMG_1406

 

On top of lemon blueberry apple oatmeal. The verdict? OMG AMAZING!!! It was so sweet and creamy, like frosting on top of my breakfast!!! Probably my favorite of all the nut butters I was sent, and blew my homemade cashew butter out of the water!!

Thirdly I tried the pecan butter on top of cranberry apple oats.

IMG_1444

 

This was seriously like eating pecan pie in butter form. Sweet, creamy, and well, pecan-y (I’m not sure how else to describe it!!). Sooo good!!! I kept ummming and ahhhing at the breakfast table so much I made my stepdad jealous (pecans are his favorite) so I guess we just have to buy some more for him (I wasn’t about to share!!!)

The cacao bliss was next on my list! I’ll admit, I was a little nervous to try it, seeing as I wasn’t a fan of the coconut butter, but this was delicious!! A mixture of coconut butter, cacao, cacao butter, and a bit of agave -it tasted like a mounds bar when it was cold and hot fudge when I warmed it a little to mix it up.

IMG_1458

 

I put it on top of vanilla soy yogurt and sliced bananas, and later topped it with a bit of crumbled graham cracker (none of this is raw, oops!!) and it was seriously like eating a s’mores sundae. And with only 4 grams of sugar too!!

Now it was time to get down to business and taste these superfood nut butters. With ingredients like blue algae, marine phytoplankton, and milk thistle, I was a little skeptical. But I just went for it.

I decided to group them according to flavors, vanilla-y and fruity (I’m so technical haha)

IMG_1465

 

On top of vanilla cinnamon blueberry oats, I tried:

Goji & Milk Thistle (Orange) –Raw organic cashew butter, raw organic almond oil, raw organic goji berry powder, raw organic agave, raw organic milk thistle, raw organic vanilla powder.

This was my favorite of the three, it was sweet and vanilla-y. A little odd but I kinda liked it

Berry AntiOxidant (light purple) –Raw organic cashew butter, raw organic almond oil, raw organic goji berry powder, raw organic elderberry powder, raw organic elderberry powder, raw organic agave and raw organic stevia

My second favorite, fruity and mellow.

Acai Berry (dark purple)– Raw organic cashew butter, raw organic almond oil, raw organic acai powder, raw organic elderberry powder, raw organic agave, raw organic vanilla powder, raw organic stevia and seasalt

I’ll be honest, I didn’t like this one. The addition of the seasalt made it too salty, and overpowered the other flavors. A sweet and salty thing was going on that somehow made it oddly tangy.

These nut butters were different, they didn’t taste like nut butter but I’m not sure how to exactly describe them!! Were they interesting to try? Yes. Would I buy them myself? Probably not

IMG_1472

 

Next I tried the Blue Algae and Phytoplankton butters on top of lemon blueberry oats

Blue Algae (dark blue-green)-Raw organic cashew butter, raw organic almond oil, raw blue algae, raw organic agave and organic lemon oil

This one I actually really liked!! It tasted kind of like fruit loops, and it was definitely my favorite of the superfood nut butters! I would probably buy this one πŸ™‚

Marine Phytoplankton (bright green)-Raw organic cashew butter, raw organic almond oil, raw phytoplankton, organic lemon oil, raw organic stevia and sea salt

This one was still good, but I liked the blue algae better. This had a milder fruity flavor but was saltier, which I think overpowered the fruity a little.

Intruigued by superfood nut butters? Want to try them yourself? Well you’re in luck! Artisana wants to send one lucky reader a sample pack of their superfood nut butters for you to taste!!! To enter:

I’ll pick a winner on Monday Feburary 18th!!

Open to US residents only. All opinions are honest and my own, I was not compensated in any way.

19 thoughts on “Artisana Review (and giveaway!!)

  1. I love Artisana’s products!! But when I reviewed them, I didn’t get a chance to try the superfood nut butters–they look quite interesting:) I am probably most intrigued by the phytoplankton or blue algae varieties; they both would be great to try. I agree that their cashew butter is incredibly delicious; it was probably one of my favorites! But I also enjoyed the coconut butter; I was definitely a fan of it:)

  2. Excuse me for being all typical chocoholic here, but I am DYING to give the “Cacao Bliss” a try!! I love Artisana nut butters (you’re right, Cashew is AMAZING!) but they’re so dang expensive for a student budget! Thanks so much to you and Artisana for the giveaway! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh wait, oopsies, silly me; I just realized the giveaway is only for the superfood nut butters! πŸ˜› (face palms) In that case, I would love to try the Goji and Milk Thistle! Sorry, sorry, sorry, and sorry again.

  4. Pingback: WIAW Eat Pretty « Life Hands You Limes

  5. Pingback: Le Diagnosis | The Girl In The Orange

  6. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

