WIAW: A day in the life (almost…)

Hi guys!! You know, I just realized that I rarely ever do an actual days of eats, I just kinda do a bunch of random photos I took throughout the week. SO-how about a real WIAW (slash monday kinda…)

IMG_1422

A bowl of fruity oatmeal (mixed frozen berries plus extra blueberries and lemon stevia) with flax and a ginormous scoop of cashew butter (I make it myself and its half the cost of store bought). I love when it melts all over the oats like icing -but I save it for last anyway haha!

IMG_1355

Okay well this was actually Saturday’s lunch, but the same basic idea haha! Salad with avocado, veggies, kabocha squash, chickpeas, cranberries and honey mustard -just switch out the squash for rice and stick it in tupperware and its mondays lunch! Still obsessed with the cranberry/mustard combo -sue me πŸ˜‰

IMG_1408

I had an appointment after school, so I grabbed a snack to go. An apple and ‘trail mix’ -two different cinnamon cereals (cinnamon cheerios taste like churros) plus chocolate almonds. Best ever.

IMG_1398

Ok ok. This was Sunday night’s dinner because what I made on Monday was ugly (but tasty. BBQ Tempeh, portobello, and brussels sprouts stir fry πŸ™‚ ) Baked sweet potato topped with onion/black bean/ corn mixture, salsa, and lots of guac! Side of brussels sprouts and cheater kale chips (if you use dino kale you don’t even have to piece it apart!)

IMG_1044

Also I don’t have a picture of my night time snack that night so how about a pretty picture of chocolate gingerbread cake and sliced apple? I mean, I almost always have some form of fruit + chocolate at night anyway (Unless its a soy yogurt bowl -i go more fruity) sooo basically its all the same yeah?

Ok ok. I suck at thisΒ picture one days worth of eats thing…so look! More random food photos!

IMG_1394

Tropical Grrreeeeeennnnnn monster (frozen banana and mango, coconut water, spinach, watercress, parsley, ginger, and some Vega tropical protein powder)

IMG_1121

Every time I eat OIAJ I secretly think, “my breakfast is cooler than all the other breakfasts!” Anyone else? I had some this morning too…my stepdad and I go through nut butter like it’s our job, and I get all the jars πŸ˜‰

IMG_1336

Culture clash dinner: Black bean chili on top of soba noodles. We called it mexican spaghetti. And then ate it with chopsticks.

IMG_1274

Sticky Orange TempehΒ (<this is awesome. It was a little salty so I doubled the OJ and added a drop of orange stevia) on top of shredded dijon b’sprouts and kabocha.

IMG_1173

And to end the post- cake and (trader joes soy) ice cream from my mommy’s birthday.

I’ve been challenging myself, adding in more fats, and just trying not to focus on whether a food is necessarily always healthy. Cheerios aren’t organic, and ice cream isn’t sugar free, but it all balances out. Isn’t that what really counts?

3 thoughts on “WIAW: A day in the life (almost…)

  1. All your eats look so delicious!! That fruity oatmeal looks amazing; I have only eaten cashew butter a few times, when I received a free sample of it from Artisana, and I LOVED it. Unfortunately, I haven’t had it in a few months, mainly because cashews are so expensive…Your oats in a jar look scrumptious; I go through almond butter super fast as well, even though I am the only one who eats it:) That sticky orange tempeh recipe sounds great; I will have to check it out. I completely agree that balance is what counts; it certainly won’t kill you to occasionally have some sugar or non-organic food! There was a point in my life when I would have shunned any food that didn’t meet my definition of “healthy,” but I have gotten much more relaxed in that sense. Though eating dairy, gluten, and refined sugar doesn’t feel great on my stomach, I no longer REFUSE to eat it when it is the only option.

  2. I love your approach to healthy eating! I still struggle sometimes with wanting to eat as cleanly as possible but there are things I love that have added sugar and whatnot that are still healthy, just not ‘perfectly clean’ and that’s okay to eat those things sometimes! It really is all about balance.

Leave a Reply

