Triple Chocolate Magic Cookies

Happy New Year!!! I hope you all had a safe night, mine was rather hectic! A bunch of friends and I went downtown to see fireworks at 9:00 pm, they were gorgeous. We stayed to bop around shops for a little while and then something I never wanted to experience happened. Walking down the street amongst all of the other families, we heard 5 loud bangs and everyone started running. We realized it was gunshots, and ducked behind a car with a bunch of other people. It was loud and kids were crying, then there were more gunshots and then I looked up and saw the police were there. It was over very quickly, but my friends and I were literally 50 feet away from it all. After we all grabbed hands, found the parents and ran to our car, everyone calling home. When we got back, we just put on our pajamas and watched the news. Two dead, three injured, and Old Sacramento was evacuated and the midnight fireworks cancelled. The story is here. Needless to say, I am very ready for all of these horrible shootings to be over. My thoughts and prayers go out to all of the families, let 2013 please be a safer year for all.

So this week our heater went out. It was very old, and we were very cold.

IMG_0832

 

The oven helped keep the house warm though, we found out. So we made cookies. The same ones you saw on Christmas. I think we’ve made these like four times in the past week and a half. I was going to give you the recipe earlier, but never got a photo shoot set up until now. Because this kept happening.

IMG_0717

 

only one left…so sad 😦

These things are seriously the best ever. My favorite cookies of my whole life. I’m usually not even a chocolate person, but these are heaven.

So I made them again last night for NYE

IMG_0850

 

Lucky for you guys, there were a few left this morning so I could finally take a picture! I found out they weren’t photogenic, but sprinkles are πŸ™‚

IMG_0887-1

 

We’ve made them so any times we are literally out of half of the ingredients to make them. So no more until we go grocery shopping.

IMG_0889

 

I can’t decide what to call them. Triple chocolate my boyfriend broke up with me cookies? They are that good. Or maybeΒ Chocolate Wasted cookies.

Oh I know!! They keep disappearing so how about

Triple Chocolate Magic Cookies

makes 24, but I would double the batch. They will disappear before your very eyes!!

yes these do contain some alcohol, it is my mom’s recipe, but it bakes out. If you don’t want to use kahlua, almond milk is fine, just add a little more sweetener

  • 3/4 C. cooked sweet potato
  • 1/4 C. almond butter
  • 1/2 C. brown rice flour
  • 1/2 C. dark cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 3/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 C. erythritol, xylitol, or cane sugar
  • 1/4 C. brown sugar
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. instant espresso powder
  • 3 T. kahlua or almond milk
  • 1/2-3/4 C. dark chocolate chips
  • dark cocoa powder, almond milk, sweetener

Preheat oven to 325 F. Line a cookie sheet with a silpat or parchment paper. In a food processor, blend sweet potato with almond butter until creamy. Then add the rest of the ingredients up up to chocolate chips and blend. Scoop dough into a bowl and add chocolate chips. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto the cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes. Take out, press cookies down to be flatter, and bake for 2 or 3 more minutes. Allow to cool on pan for a few minutes before transferring to a cooling rack. Meanwhile, mix a few spoonfuls of cocoa powder with sweetener to taste and a splash or almond milk (I don’t have exact amounts, just add ingredients until you get the right consistency). Mix until it forms a frosting like paste. Spread onto cooled cookies and top with sprinkles, candy canes, etc.

IMG_0886

 

These are seriously addicting.

8 thoughts on “Triple Chocolate Magic Cookies

  1. Oh no! What a scary story. I’m SO glad that you and your friends are ok. It’s so sad that things like that have to happen though, it breaks my heart.
    Aw, sorry your heater went out! That’s happened to me before too. I just had a billion layers on and drank tea like there was no tomorrow. πŸ˜› We also used the oven to keep the house warm.
    Ok so these cookies look AMAZING and I just want to reach through my screen and grab one. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: WIAW(hen winter break was still a reality) « Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: A Sunny Lemon Cheesecake | Life Hands You Limes

  4. Pingback: 2013 Year in Review! | Life Hands You Limes

  5. Wow those cookies look soooo delicious! Do you think I could sub the brown rice flour for spelt? Thanks- awesome blog! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

