Better than Gingerbread

Finally!! It’s December!! And oh man, what winter weather we are having here!

It’s been raining non stop since Thursday, and we are forecasted to get 5 1/2 inches over 4 days (I live in dry CA, that is insane for me!!). I get to run in the peak storm tomorrow for a leg of the CIM (more on that later).

What does December mean? It means that my tastebuds have finally transitioned from pumpkin to peppermint and gingerbread. But you know whats better than gingerbread? Lebkuchen.

What is Lebkuchen might you ask? It’s basically the German cousin of gingerbread. A wonderful, spicy gingerbread cookie with almonds, hazelnuts, oranges, other dried fruits, and sometimes dipped in chocolate. Its delicious. And almost every time gingerbread flavored anything is made in my house, it transforms into Lebkuchen flavor Β – especially when my mom is in charge.

So it was only natural when, last night as my mother dearest was preparing some slow cooker overnight oatmeal, it turned into gingerbread oatmeal in celebration of December. And that quickly turned into Lebkuchen. I asked my mother for the recipe and she happily obliged πŸ™‚ (please excuse the pics-phone quality, not photoshoot. Just really really good so I wanted to post for you!!)

lebkuchen oats1

Lebkuchen (German Gingerbread) Oatmeal

serves 4

Oats

  • 1 C. dry steel cut oats (or 4 servings of regular oats/any whole grain cereal)
  • 3 C. water or milk
  • Β 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp ginger
  • 3/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 -1/3 c. chopped raisins (just made them a little smaller–and used the Trader Joe’s raisin medley)
  • 1/4 c. other dried fruit (could use: candied orange peel, dried apricots, etc. We happened to have dried persimmon on-hand, which was great!)
  • 1 T molasses
  • 2 tsp. mocha teecino (or…you could use a little instant espresso + cocoa powder, etc.)*
  • SweetenerΒ (could use: maple syrup, brown sugar, stevia, chopped dates, etc.) We used a few drops of each orange stevia and chocolate stevia (check out the bottom of the post)

Toppings

  • 1/4 C. almonds
  • 1/4 C. crystalized ginger
  • almond milk
  • optional: “chocolate sauce” (cocoa powder, milk, and sweetner to taste) or chocolate chips

 

*Note: the Teecino/ coffee/ cocoa powder enhances the lebkuchen taste, but is optional if you’re going for straight gingerbread flavor.

In a crockpot combine all ingredients for oats (except sweetner). Cook on low overnight. In the morning, add your sweetener to taste. In a food processor, chop the almonds and ginger together. Top each serving of oats with a few spoonfuls of almond / ginger mix Β and a splash of almond milk, plus chocolate if you choose.

lebkuchen2

Easy peasy and the perfect thing for a rainy December morning!!

Followed by a wonderful peppermint latte in a christmas mug:)

IMG_0257

 

decaf coffee with a few drops each of peppermint stevia and chocolate stevia, plus vanilla almond milk. Tastes like Christmas!

 

This breakfast was the first thing made with my brand-spankin new stash of NuNaturals Stevia that I won from Shannon‘s giveaway! I was so excited when this showed up on my doorstep yesterday after school!

photo-1

In my excitment I opened the package with the first thing I could find

photo-8

 

who needs scissors when you have a pencil? Besides, I’ve accidentally cut my fingers 4 times too many in the past week. Safety first thankyouverymuch!

photo-7

 

I got much more than I was expecting!!

photo-2

AHHH!!!! Look at all the flavors!!! I’ve only ever had the vanilla and the powder, but I’ve been wanting the other flavors for a while. I’m soo excited to try them all (and the recipes I was given too!)

Thank you Shannon! (and thank you NuNaturals!!)

5 thoughts on “Better than Gingerbread

  1. Happy December to you, too! Today is the 1st Advent in Germany. That means only three left until Christmas! Yay! πŸ™‚ This is my favorite time of year!

    Ok soo..I want you oatmeal right now! πŸ˜€ I just had lunch but it just looks so good. And I love all things Lebkuchen. Hey, if you want me to send you some German Lebkuchen, I totally will! Just let me know, it wouldn’t be a problem at all. πŸ™‚

    Woohoo! Isnt NuNaturals awesome! Enjoy all the products!

    • Thank you!! That is so awesome! If you can find a vegan Lebkuchen I would love some! Last year we made our own and it came out great, but this year we cant find the recipe so we will have to try all over again haha (dont mind)! And yes, I’ve been using the NuNaturals in everything, I’m scared I’ll have to hide them soon to conserve them because sitting on my counter next to the spices, they sure wont last long!!

  2. Pingback: WIAW. « Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: Recipe ReDux: Frosted Pumpkin Pudding Bread | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

