Just dropping in (with a recipe)

How many licks does it take to get to the center of a tootsie pop? The world may never know, but you could probably have figured it out in the time I’ve been gone! Sorry about that! I guess I’m what you might call a ‘casual blogger’ (aka with my schedule, I will blog when and if I can -but homework comes first!) I’ve been spending my days catching up on homework and sleep. But I have today off, and next week is Thanksgiving break so expect a few more where this came from! I’ve had so many instances where I’ve had something to say, but no time to say it. I actually have a few posts with recipes waiting for pictures and more words, so today I’m reaching into my ‘archives’ to bring you a lovely fall treat!

Well, the day had finally come. Not only were we out of Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter, but we were all out of Trader Joe’s Raw Almond Butter too!! Oh, what a world, what a world!!!!!

Defeated, I dragged my almond butter-less self to the freezer in search of an easy replacement – Almonds!!!

I will finally make my own Almond Butter I decided. But, as you know, one thing leads to another and pumpkin spice-less ness leads to using cinnamon.

 

Once you add the cinnamon, you have to add maple, its only right.

That scent coming from the food processor…was it fall?

Not exactly.

Pancakes?

Not quite.

French Toast?

Holy bajeezus I made french toast butter. Allll-riiiggghhtt!!! πŸ™‚

French Toast Almond Butter

  • 2.5 C. Almonds
  • 1 T. raw honey
  • 1 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 T. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp maple extract
  • 3/8 tsp stevia (or more maple syrup/honey)
  • 1/8 tsp sea salt
  • optional: 1 T neutral oil, if it needs to come together

Put almonds into a large food processor and blend for a few minutes, stopping to scrape sides if necessary, until the almonds have broken down and released their oils. Add the rest of the ingredients (except oil) and keep blending until you reach a nice, drippy consistency (this will take a while, and its loud -like, really loud, haha ). If you have trouble with it not coming together, add the oil to ‘get things moving’. Thats about it! Use abundantly on your favorite, almond butter-needing foods (or non foods, I won’t judge πŸ™‚ )

You can probably try this in a vitamix too, but be careful. I tried that once, and came thisclose Β to overheating it. Safer is a food processor!!!

 

Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “Just dropping in (with a recipe)

  1. Wow, that almond butter looks amazing!! Such a creative flavor:) I love making my own almond butter–except for the extremely obnoxious sound that my food processor makes:D And I can never seem to get it creamy, but maybe I will try adding a little coconut oil next time to see if that works…

    • Thank you!! I think thats just a little issue with nut butter when you make it at home, mine doesn’t quite get as creamy as the kind you buy either, probably because they have fancy nut-butter machines haha.

    • Oh no!!! That happened to me when I tried to make ‘nutella’ once last year – ultimate fail. its tricky, i seriously almost broke my vitamix before I decided to move this to my processor haha

  2. Pingback: What I (Want to Be) Eating Wednesday! « moderngirlnutrition

Leave a Reply

