Pumpkin Nutella Crepe

It started when my mom mentioned that a cupcakery nearby had vegan pumpkin spice cupcakes…

These were divine! A wonderfully dense, rich, not too sweet, spicy and perfectly pumpkin cupcake with a perfect vegan cream cheese frosting. Hea-ven.

Of course, being the pumpkin addict that I am, this got me on a bit of a frenzy for all things pumpkin. To Trader Joe’s I went!

Oh hey fall! (and Sophie…haha)

Lets get a close up of my kryptonite please?

And then, to cap it all off, I had no school on Wednesday, so I could sleep in…

…and have a delicious, leisurely breakfast.

I haven’t had a crepe in almost two years, maybe more. When I decided I wanted an indulgent, amazing breakfast I decided to go full out and make a Nutella crepe. Well, a Justin’s Chocolate Hazelnut butter crepe. Same Same 🙂

Well then pumpkin pie came to the party (duh). Hit. The. Spot.

A warm, subtly pumpkiny crepe filled with melty chocolate nutella and sweet bananas, topped with dark chocolate  and pumpkin pie sauce. I am drooling just looking at it again!

Pumpkin Pie Nutella Crepe

Crepe:

  • 1/3 C. chickpea flour
  • 1/2 C. brewed pumpkin spice tea or water*
  • 1 T. pumpkin
  • 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/4 tsp stevia
  • 1 T. flax plus 3 T. water, combined in a ‘flax egg’

(*I pre-brewed pumpkin tea and used it for the liquid in my crepe, if you don’t have it on hand you could use chai, or just water and bump up the spices a bit)

Filling:

  • 2 T. ‘Nutella’ (or any chocolate nut butter, maple would also be good!)
  • 1/2 banana
  • drizzle of pumpkin sauce

Toppings:

  • Pumpkin sauce (1 T. pumpkin butter plus 1 T. water)
  • Chocolate sauce (1 T. cocoa powder plus milk, stevia to taste)
  • other 1/2 banana
  • handful of mini chocolate chips (optional)

For the crepe, mix the liquid, pumpkin, spices, and flour, and whisk well until smooth. Add the flax egg, and whisk again until well incorporated. Lightly spray a large pan (I used a 10 inch or so skillet) and over medium heat, pour the batter on, spreading it around quickly with a thin spatula (like for a vitamix). Allow this to cook for 4 or 5 minutes, then carefully flip and cook for 4 or 5 more. Put it on a plate, add your fillings to half of the crepe, and fold the crepe over. Drizzle with your toppings, and try not to eat it too fast:)

 

I highy recommend this with a steaming pumpkin spice latte (Trader Joe, I think I love you). And while wearing a fluffy robe outside in a morning fall breeze. Because breakfasts like these are meant to be thoroughly enjoyed.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Nutella Crepe

  1. This sounds amazing! I’ve been looking for something new to put my Raw Almondtella on:) And your TJ’s loot all looks so yummy and festive- that pumpkin butter= heaven.Also, I love your background idea! Have a great day Lacey!

Leave a Reply

