S’mores Ice Cream Sundae!! (and Vegan Ice Cream Sundae Challenge)

I know, I know. All I ever seem to post about is Ice Cream!! But its soooo good!! And its summer. I mean it is SUMMER!! As in the coolest it will be all week is 104º F. Not even kidding you. So when I heard about the Vegan Ice Cream Sundae Challenge over at Sweetly Raw, I just knew I had to join in on the summery fun! Since it’s not a raw ice cream challenge, I wanted to use my absolute favorite ice cream recipe as a base. My Sweet Dream Ice Cream base decided to get not one, but two makeovers for this challenge, and I used my thinking cap to come up with probably my cutest photo shoot yet! Its been fun to say the least!

With summer coming to an end (I start school on Monday! Eeeppss!!), I knew that whatever I made needed to create a completely summer-y flavor (I am using up every last bit of my last few days to live it up before AP season hits). Thinking caps on, I remembered what tomorrow is: National S’mores Day! (who comes up with these again?). Thats it! The ultimate summer dessert will get a vegan, frozen, healthy, amazing makeover.

Daaannnggg s’mores! You looking fine today!!

Unlike traditional s’mores, this dessert will cool you down when its 104°. Also, you need to plan ahead a little. No worries though! This recipe makes enough that you only need to plan ahead once, so you can enjoy a s’mores sundae on mondae, tuesdae and wednesdae too!! If you wait, you shall receive (like on the Marshmallow Experiment! how fitting:) )

Without the toppings, the ice cream is gluten free, low fat (only the healthy kind too), and (almost) sugar free. So you can eat a lot of it 😉

First, the ice cream(s)

Chocolate Marshmallow Sweet Dream Ice Cream

  • 2 C. unsweetened (I used vanilla) Almond Milk
  • 1/2 C. (dark) Chocolate Almond Milk (or regular plus more cocoa powder)
  • 2 C. Japanese Sweet Potato (purple), cooked and peeled
  • 1/4 C. dark unsweetened cocoa powder (Hershey’s Special Dark)
  • 1/4 C. Carob Powder
  • 2 T. Almond Butter
  • 2 T. Chocolate nut butter (or more AB, but you will need more cocoa powder)
  • 8 pitted Medjool Dates
  • 3 T. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. xanthan gum
  • pinch sea salt
  • stevia to taste  (I used about 3/4 tsp uncut)

Cook the sweet potato (I like roasting [w/o oil] because it gets caramelly-sweet), and peel off the skin. Immediately (still hot), put potato and remaining ingredients into a high-powered blender (like a Vita-mix) and blend until creamy (you want it thick and soupy like paint), adjusting sweetness and flavor to taste. Refrigerate mixture until completely cooled (note, when cooled it is very, very thick. You can thin it out a little with more ND milk if you want, but if you leave it thick it makes for a very creamy ice cream, almost like gelato), then pour into an ice cream maker and churn, following manufacturer’s instructions. Keep in freezer until ready to use.

I have notes on potato subs and different nut butter usage on my earlier Sweet Dream posts. Also, if you want a more traditional chocolate ice cream, use a full 1/2 cup of cocoa powder instead of 1/2 chocolate, 1/2 carob. The carob powder lightens it up, and gives a sort of natural, marshmallow-y sweetness, and also allows a little of the fruitiness of the sweet potato to come through and further mallow-ize it 🙂

Toasty Marshmallow Sweet Dream Ice Cream

  • 1 1/2 C. unsweetened almond milk (vanilla)
  • 1 1/4 C. Japanese Sweet Potato (purple), cooked and peeled
  • 2 T. Vanilla Almond Butter*
  • 4 pitted Medjool Dates
  • 2 T. Vanilla Extract
  • 1/4 tsp. Peanut Butter Extract
  • 1 tsp. Peanut Flour or PB2
  • 1/4 tsp. maca powder
  • 2 T. Unsweetened, shredded coconut
  • pinch sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. xanthan gum
  • Stevia, to taste (I used 1/2 tsp uncut for this one, You want it very sweet, like a marshmallow)

Follow same directions as before, for the chocolate ice cream. You want this reminiscent of a marshmallow, so don’t be skimpy on the sweet (you know, just be careful because its stevia). This seems like a lot of little flavors, but the small amount of peanut flavor and maca give this a slight, toasted flavor, and the coconut ,vanilla, and the cocoa butter in the almond butter give the sweet, marshmallow-y flavor.

*I used Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter, which I very highly recommend. It is made with a small amount of cocoa butter, giving it a white chocolate, almost frosting-y flavor. It is only available through Whole Foods currently, and not all of them carry it. If you can’t find it, or don’t want to use it, I would use regular almond butter and a small amount of cocoa butter or coconut butter, plus extra vanilla extract and a small amount of more sweetener.

Yes, I did make a half recipe for the toasty marshmallow, as I was fully intending on swirling the two together. However, I decided against it,  for aesthetics sake. Feel Free to double the recipe, or to half the chocolate, etc. Or swirl it. Really, where can you go wrong with healthy, vegan, s’mores ice cream?!?

Now for the Sundae!!!

S’mores Ice Cream Sundae! 

yes the exclamation point is in fact essential to the title

Serves 1 or 2

  • 1-2 scoops each of Chocolate Marshmallow and Toasty Marshmallow Sweet Dream Ice Cream
  • 2-3 sheets of vegan graham crackers, crumbled
  • chocolate chips and vegan marshmallows, to top (completely optional:) )

Turn your graham cracker into crumbs (either in a baggy, with your hands, or a food processor). Put half of the crumbs in the bottom of your glass, then layer the chocolate ice cream and marshmallow ice cream, topping with the rest of the crumbs. If using, toast the vegan marshmallows (easy peasy over your stove) and put on top as a garnish, along with chocolate chips. Eat it up, relishing the fact that you did not have to go outside for this s’more.

Toasting marshmallows over a fire. Am I the only one who thinks this is the best part of making s’mores??

Of Course, no s’more would be complete without campfire songs!

(aka this is where I make a lame excuse to show you all of the pretty pictures of s’mores sundaes that I took 🙂 )

On top of old smoooa-kkeeeyyyyy….

All covered in snooowwwww….

Hooommmmeeee, Home on the Raaaaaannnnggggeeeee…..

Oh, Oh, the ratttlin’ bog! 

The Bog down in the valley-oh!

She’ll be comin round the mountain when she comes!!

C-A-M-P-F-I-R-E -S-O-N-G SONG!!!! It would help if you just sang along!! 

Not gonna lie, that last one was from SpongeBob Squarepants. I was not a girl scout unfortunately.

But I do make an awesome sundae.

Sophie even wanted in on it.

(Don’t worry, not the ice cream. She really just wanted the sticks I used as props)

mmmmm….S’more sticks  Sundae Please!!!!

10 thoughts on “S’mores Ice Cream Sundae!! (and Vegan Ice Cream Sundae Challenge)

  1. Pingback: WIAW #7: Playing With my Food:) « Life Hands You Limes

  2. This is SO fun and fabulous Lacey! Thanks for your entry. It totally brought me back to my childhood days of making s’mores around the campfire. I like the idea of turning it into a healthy ice cream!

  3. Lacey, you have made the most unreal icecream!!! I am in Australia and only wish we could get some of those ingredients here…. I would love to make it… Good luck !

    • thank you!!! your so sweet! Sorry the ingredients aren’t available. The ice cream is pretty adaptable though, you just need potatoes, ND milk, and flavors!

  4. Pingback: (un)healthy thoughts at any size. « Life Hands You Limes

  5. Pingback: WIAW #8- Fruits, Veggies, and Cake. « Life Hands You Limes

  6. Pingback: A Sunny Lemon Cheesecake | Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

