Going Nuts

Yes, I am going nuts. My mom is going nuts. My friends are going nuts.

There is only one week left of summer, therefore I am going nuts.

I still have 2 1/2 chapters of APUSH notes, half of a pulitzer prize book to read, 6 articles to analyze, and an essay to write in that week, because I was too busy eating ice cream to actually follow that schedule you see there. Nuts.

The internet is distracting. Nuts. So is ice cream. Double nuts.

Nobody has invented either a time machine or a real freeze ray so I can actually get work done and have a week left of freedom. Nuts.

But most of all? I just finished off the last bit of this (everybody’s favorite) ice cream and we don’t have anymore sweet potatoes so I can’t make more yet. NUTS NUTS NUTS NUTS!!!!!!!

 

This is the creamiest, most delicious ice cream I’ve made yet. You’d be nuts not to agree.

Peanut Butter Sweet Dream Ice Cream

vegan, GF, SF, oil-free

1 quart, plus enough to ‘check for poison’ right out of the ice cream maker. Nobody has to know…

  • 2 C. cooked, peeled japanese sweet potato (about 1 med.) still hot
  • 1/4 C. almond or peanut butter
  • 2-3 T. Better than Peanut Butter (or more regular PB)
  • 1/4 C. PB2 or peanut flour (or even more PB. really, its PB you can’t go wrong)
  • 1/2 C. date paste
  • 2 C. vanilla unsweetened non-dairy milk
  • 3/4 tsp uncut stevia (or more date paste), to taste
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 2 T. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp peanut butter extract
  • 1 tsp. xanthan gum
  • optional: 1 Tbs. unsweetened shredded coconut (gives a buttery flavor)

Cook the sweet potato (I like roasting [w/o oil] because it gets caramelly-sweet), and peel off the skin. Immediately (still hot), put potato and remaining ingredients into a high-powered blender (like a Vita-mix) and blend until creamy, adding up to additional 1/2 C. ND milk if needed (you want it thick and soupy like paint), adjusting sweetness and flavor to taste (i.e. much more PB, if you like that sorta thing 😉 ). Refrigerate mixture until completely cooled, then pour into an ice cream maker and churn, following manufacturer’s instructions. Eat immediately or freeze for later. (I have notes on date paste, potato subs, and different nut butter usage on my earlier Sweet Dream posts)

You could top this with jelly and pretend its a sammie. And eat it for lunch.

Apparently, it helps you do your homework that way.

But thats nuts. Who wants to get ice cream all over your homework? Its safer to skip the homework:)

I like it even better with my homemade chocolate sauce.

I like it even better than that in a nutty-monkey sundae.

But I’m gonna make you wait for those recipes:)

Why? Because I like making you go nuts.

 

3 thoughts on “Going Nuts

  1. Pingback: WIAW #6 : Summer Staples « Life Hands You Limes

  2. Pingback: Nutty Monkeys « Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: WIAW #11 « Life Hands You Limes

Leave a Reply

