WIAW #6 : Summer Staples

Happy WIAW!This month it’s summer staples so I thought that instead of going through a single days worth of food, I would show you some of my eats that reflect my fav summer foods (well, actually I just didn’t get pictures of everything again:) ) But it works!!! 

Big thanks to Jenn for hosting this every week!! Now lets start!

A few breakfasts this week:

summer staples: fruits and veggies in my oatmeal (I am a weirdo who eats veggies in my oatmeal. deal)

Carrot Cake Oatmeal with coconut and golden raisins (aka the only raisins I will eat. Brown raisins are just ew.)

My friend came over for breakfast and we made mickey mouse blueberry pancakes. Then we decided we liked baby pancakes better so they became minnie mouse pancakes (he he he), plus some fruit salad on the side, and an attempt to make traditional matcha green tea (whisking it with milk and sweetener) by opening our matcha tea bags into boiling water…FAIL (yeah, apparently its cheaper that way because they put regular green tea in there too.)

Lunches:

Summer staple: salads!

Salad with celery, apple, snap peas, and edamame in a balsalmic-dijon dressing, with more dijon and the rest of the apple (big as my head) with PB on the side. A piece of flax, fruit, and veggie bread was eaten while making this:)

When you run out of food and need to shop: snack plate for lunch it is!! Raw celery and cauliflower with PB, toast with PB and fig butter (I was hungry so I already ate some of it:) ) plus some cherries that we needed to use up. I also had a whole plateful of kabocha before this. What can I say, I’m in love (…with, squash…)

 Can you tell I eat with my fingers a lot of the time?

Dinners:

An attempt at making chow mein, that really was a veggie-tofu stir fry with kelp noodles (that tasted like soap at the end. ew.) I had some rice while it was cooking, I’m impatient:)

Delicious re-creation of my favorite taco salad EVER ( Vegetarian Yucatan salad with 83425084392 substutions and other ways to make the cashier’s life harder:) ) Refried beans on the plate, lettuce, purple cabbage, carrot, red onion, peppers and black beans with roasted corn (off the cob because my braces just got tightened plus 5, yes 5, power chains. ouch)

Then it was topped with 2 kinds of salsa and home-made fresh guac. Complete:)

Summer staple: Mexican food and orange carby goodness:)

 And my own version of a savory stuffed sweet potato! Now I have done savory sweet potatoes before, But usually beans in a sauce like bbq sauce or ketchup with curry powder and garam masala (delish btw). But to go all out? I simply had to try! I did a bed of steamed purple cabbage, sweet potato, steamed cauliflower, leftover refried and black beans (from taco salad), red onion, and the last of the guar (from night before), topped with pineapple salsa and a generous amount of smoked paprika. OMG sooooo recreating this like every day of my life!!! um, yum.

Snacks/Desserts:

Summer staples: ICE CREAM!!!!

Banana soft serve with home-made peanut butter chocolate sauce and crushed gf pretzels. Pretend this is actually like, 5 pictures because I had this a lot this week:)

My Peanut Butter Sweet Dream Ice Cream (recipe up asap!), which is my new favorite flavor of Sweet Dream. Especially topped with chocolate sauce. This also happened multiple times:) EDIT: I have the recipe up now!!! Peanut Butter Ice Cream recipe

I even challenged myself this week and ate something not “healthy“. It was a learning moment:)

Also: Fresh fruit, green smoothies, and lots of healthy baked goods 🙂 because thats how I roll.

You know what else is a summer staple? Relaxing on a Tuesday night with Glee Project and Pretty Little Liars. Boy I’m going to miss summer in 2 weeks!!!

23 thoughts on “WIAW #6 : Summer Staples

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever tried veggies in oatmeal, but it looks delicious! And good for you for challenging yourself – ‘unhealthy’ eats are part of a healthy diet 🙂 Also, the kabocha love? I’m so with you!

    • Thank you!! Veggie oatmeal is the best! carrot cake, zucchini bread, carrot-zucchini-banana, I’ve even done beets! Kabocha is zoo good even my dogs go crazy when they smell it in the oven haha!

  2. Good to know I’m not the only one that eats part of my meal while cooking 😛
    Banana soft-serve is the bomb, but there’s something to be said for unhealthy treats as well 🙂

    Have a great week!

  3. I know I’m late to the party…but I just wanted to say that I love Kabocha squash too! I have one growing in my garden and I sit and babysit it sometimes (I may or may not have sang to it….) and wait impatiently until it grows so I can eat it! Your meals all look delicious btw!

Leave a Reply

