Sweet (Potato) Dream Vanilla Ice Cream

Stop! Hold it right there…Put down that spoon.

Yes, I’m talking to you. And that bowl of ice cream you were about to waste precious time on.

I have something for you.

Something better than that store bought ice cream. I don’t care if its your favorite Coffee-Biscotti hemp ice cream.

I might care a little more if its a homemade drumstick. Or a strawberry milkshake. Because that just means you are a really cool person. (You like me!! You really like me!!).

But I promise this is better. So worth it. And totally guilt free. Which makes everything worth it.

After my experiment with chickpea ice cream, I wanted to find a way to make an ice cream that was just as healthy, but much creamier, and overall more satisfying. I remembered Angela’s dip and vegan cheesecakes my mom has made with this ingredient (another time, another post). That did just the trick.

Silky, creamy, sweet and buttery. Its everything you could ask for in ice cream

What makes this ice cream so sweet? Its the secret ingredient. Sweet potato.

Japanese sweet potato to be exact.

Vanilla Sweet Dream Ice Cream

vegan, sugar free, oil free, gluten free

  • 2 C. cooked, peeled japanese sweet potato (about 1 med), still hot
  • 1/4 C. almond butter
  • 1/2 C. date paste
  • 3/4 tsp uncut stevia, or to taste (or more date paste)
  • 2 C. vanilla non-dairy milk
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 T. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • More vanilla extract, or vanilla bean, vanilla bean paste, or vanilla powder to taste (optional, but highly recommended for super delicious, vanilla-y amazingness)
  • 1 Tbs shredded coconut (optional, but gives buttery flavor)
 Cook your sweet potato (I recommend roasting because it will caramelize and become very sweet, but streaming works if you are in a rush/don’t want to heat up the house), and peel of the skin. Right away, while still hot, put potato in a high powered blender (Vitamix) with the rest of the ingredients. Blend until creamy. If needed, 1/2 cup at a time, until you reach a soupy consistency (think paint) But be careful, too much and it may freeze a little icy. Adjust vanilla flavor and sweetness to taste, and blend once more for good creamy measure. Refrigerate mixture until completely cooled, and then pour into an ice cream maker, following manufacturer’s instructions. Eat right away, or freeze for later.
I think this is the best ice cream I have made yet. I even got an enthusiastic approval from my step dad (who usually calls the healthy vegan food we make him “okay” or “alright”), he said it was actually really good (Squeee!!!!). I pretty much jumped up and down in excitement at that point.
It needed a name though. Lets see, there is Soy Dream, Rice Dream…How about Sweet Dream? (you know, like Sweet Potato, but without the potato…) I like it 🙂
And then I made myself a bowlful. With sprinkles. Because that makes everything even better.
Notes:
    I used japanese sweet potato (purple skin, white flesh), due to its thick, creamy texture and sweet, almost banana-like  flavor. Yukon Gold or other yellow skinned potatoes would also work, but would be more buttery and less sweet. I would not use regular sweet potato, as they are much softer, or russet/red potatoes, as they are blander and starchy. 
    For date paste, simply soak 8-10 dates in water overnight,then puree them with some of the soaking liquid until a nice consistency is reached. Makes about a cup.
     Other nut butters may be used as well, but it may change the flavor. Cashew butter or another neutral tasting butter would be good, whereas peanut butter would give a peanut flavor. I used almond because it seems to be the least allergenic for my mom.
5 thoughts on “Sweet (Potato) Dream Vanilla Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: WIAW #4 « Life Hands You Limes

  2. Pingback: WIAW #5: The disappearing summer « Life Hands You Limes

  3. Pingback: Going Nuts « Life Hands You Limes

  4. Pingback: S’mores Ice Cream Sundae!! (and Vegan Ice Cream Sundae Challenge) « Life Hands You Limes

  5. Your description has me wanting badly to try this ice cream! 🙂 I just need to figure out where to find Japanese sweet potatoes here in Michigan, and what uncut stevia is (or where to find it). I can make date paste, so can do that instead once I find the right sweet potatoes.

    Terrific recipes! Thanks for posting. Maybe you will write a cookbook?

Leave a Reply

