Vanilla Almond (Chickpea) Ice Cream

Its Hot.

Yeah. This was at 7:00 pm. It had really been 107° earlier that day.

Plus our AC broke. It was 90° inside of my house. With fans on.

I wanted something cold. I had a bunch of chickpeas in the fridge, and an itch to *finally* use the ice cream maker we bought a few years back, so I figured, if beans can make cookies, blondies, pies, and dip, why can’t they make ice cream too?

I couldn’t find any recipes for chickpea ice cream online, so I said to myself,  “EXPERIMENT TIME!!!!!”

I’m pretty proud of myself.

Vanilla Almond (Chickpea) Ice Cream

Vegan, gluten, oil, and sugar free. 

  • 2 C. chickpeas, shelled (its worth it, trust me)
  • 1/2 C. date paste*
  • 3/4 tsp uncut stevia, or to taste
  • 2 C. unsweetened vanilla almond milk (more if needed)
  • 1/4 C. almond butter
  • 1 1/2 Tbs. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 tsp almond extract
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 Tbs shredded coconut (optional, but gives buttery taste)
 Make sure your chickpeas have been drained and rinsed well. If you shell them (and you should), rinse them again after shelling to get all the beany flavor out. Put all ingredients in a Vitamix and blend well (you can use a food processor too, but I tried it and ended up switching to the Vitamix because it was a lot smoother). If it gets warm from blending, stick it in the fridge until it has cooled off. Transfer mixture to an ice cream maker and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Eat immediately or transfer to a freezer-safe container and keep in freezer until ready for ice cream.
* For the date paste I soaked about 7-10 dates overnight in a big cup of water in the fridge. The next day I processed them with a little of the soaking liquid, adding more liquid until I liked the consistency. It made about a cup.
This ice cream would be even creamier if you used coconut milk, but I haven’t tried it, and you might lose some of the almond flavor.
I can’t wait to experiment with other flavors!! Note: I now understand the ice cream maker and we are never using store-bought ice cream again. ever.
This is also totally healthy. And full of protein. You could eat it for breakfast. In fact, I think I will. On top of strawberry shortcake pancakes. Cake and ice cream for brekkie?? Hey why not!!
mmmm…..enjoy!
7 thoughts on “Vanilla Almond (Chickpea) Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Fields Forever « Life Hands You Limes

  2. Pingback: Sweet Vanilla Ice Cream « Life Hands You Limes

    • Now that I’ve made more ice creams since then, I would definitely add xanthan gum to this recipe (maybe 1/2 Tbs?), or try one of my sweet potato ice creams, they are a little creamier. But it’s still awesome, beans can do everything haha!

Leave a Reply

