2013 Year in Review!

Sooooooo 2013 is almost over….Blogging did not go as planned hashtagoops. But you know what? 2013 was still a really good year! So I thought I”d do a little recap and be different just like all the other bloggers ;)

Firstly how about Christmas?

photo (3)

I spent Christmas enjoying the day with my family, and didn’t take many pictures, so I have some explaining to do haha! I went to Christmas Eve service with my mom and grandma and stepdad, and it was beautiful as always -traditional hymns, a beautiful tree, the organ playing, and ending the service with Silent Night sung by candle light. My favorite! Then we went over to my grandmas house for cookies and a few gifts (and being thoroughly amused by her hyperactive dogs). Christmas day was super relaxed. I spent the whole morning finishing wrapping presents and attempting to bake cinnamon rolls for brunch. When my siblings finally arrived we went to my dad’s house for presents ( I made everyone hot cocoa mix and put it in mugs for them) – and my little sister showed me her writing skills from kindergarten! We went back to my mom’s house for brunch (cinnamon rolls, gingerbread, tofu scramble, fruit) and finished the day going up to Grass Valley for dinner with family. End scene.

So now, about 2013…

It was the year I embraced my awkwardness. That about sums it up.

photo (1)

It was the year of chocolate (remember when I wasnt a chocolate person?)

photo (2)

LOL.

Funfact! Those cookies are actually the first recipe I posted in 2013! Triple Chocolate Magic Cookies

IMG_1048

 

I stopped going to the gym and decided to take care of myself with more love

IMG_1161

I did my fist ever review and had more throughout the year

photo 2-47

 

I ate alot (like more than ever before in my life probably) of nut butter and then started making my own cuz its cheaper. Then Veg News pinned my recipe and it got 240 repins!!!!!!

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 4.42.45 PM

 

I celebrated my birthday with sprinkles and gave you guys 6 birthday cake themed recipes in 6 days (ice cream, cookies, baked oats, a smoothie, pancakes,and a parfait

photo 1-55

 

photo-101

 

I also defied logic and ate kabocha squash all year long.

photo-155

 

I took awkward pictures with mermaids.

I mean I went on a college tour in So Cal.

photo 4-69

 

and discovered acai bowls, which became my favorite thing to eat for breakfast over summer.

73339_10152087255539698_1897730970_n

 

I went to a summer camp that changed my life

photo 1-102

 

Baked an impressive cake

1082819_560880760634790_1115220105_n

 

Started my senior year of highschool

photo 1-129

 

Got a job…and then I disappeared for a little while

photo 5-80

 

I ran my first ever half marathon in 2:01, and never did the recap I promised because I lost the pictures and also I’m kinda lazy. But it was awesome

photo-16

 

I turned in my college applications after many many many essay revisions and tear sessions

photo (1).

 

and continued my smoothie obsession well into winter… Sometimes I bring my own smoothies to work at Jamba Juice – is that weird?

So even though blogging has taken the backseat in the past few months, I’m completely OK with that. Life has taken over, and different things are becoming important to me. I’ve changed alot in the last year -shoot the last 6 months even. I’ve relaxed some things while becoming more passionate about others. And I’m very slowly starting to figure myself out. I’m not making any resolutions in 2014, but I have alot of things I’m looking forward to.

2014 is the year

  • I get to go to Disneyland with my musical theatre family
  • I get to teach little kids about the environment in a Nature Center class
  • I graduate Highschool
  • I go to college
  • I start making new decisions
  • I continue to grow and learn and make  mistakes and memories

2014 is the year I’ve been waiting for and I can’t wait to see what comes next.

What are you excited for this year?

4 thoughts on “2013 Year in Review!

  1. It’s so nice to hear from you again, Lacey!! I’ve missed reading your posts and being inspired by your fantastic recipes. It sounds as though you had quite an eventful year, and that 2014 will even more exciting! I am definitely working on embracing my awkwardness as well, and I both love and can relate to that picture with that parrot;) I still need to make that delicious-looking chocolate cake–it looks too tasty to never try! Congratulations on completing your first half-marathon; that is an incredible accomplishment! Also, congratulations on finishing up your college applications, since I know that can be a lengthy and tedious process. I am looking forward to any of your future posts, but I am glad that you are OK with not “needing” to blog–after all, real life comes first! I wish you all the best for 2014!

  2. You are seriously so cute. I’m so glad I found your blog! I’m right there with you in the whole eating batter subject! That’s so cool that you did a half AND finished all of your apps! Crazy! I’ve been terribly MIA lately too due to real life, so please don’t feel bad! I’ll take whatever I can get! I hope 2014 treats you amazing!

  3. Hey Lacey! I’m back and I just wanna say something REALLY quickly because it makes me happy, and I hope it makes you feel the same way!!
    Now, before I say it, I really hope this isn’t offensive or make you feel self-conscious, because I promise you that I just want you to feel good about yourself.
    But in that picture where you’re posing with the mermaid??? It looks like you’ve put on more weight than when I last saw pictures of you, and it looks SOOOO good!! Dat bosom doe.. <3 So jealous. :O

    You're just glowing and gorgeous! And I really feel like 2014 is THE year for you to totally move on now and REALLY live life! I can feel it because I see it in your pictures.. You seem so so happy and REALLY healthy, and it makes ME happy! I hope you never have to go through that horrible phase of your life again, and I hope you don't ever see yourself the way you did during the days of your eating disorder. The lovely person you really are seems to be surfacing and winning the fight, and I am so lucky to get to see her and meet her this year. :)

    Love you! And keep taking care of yourself with love! It seems to be doing you A LOT of good! :) #datbosomdoe

Leave a Reply

