MIMM: Turkies, College, and Inspiration

Happy (yesitsfinallyfallbreakitshereitshere!!) Monday!!!

Before we get to all the Marvelousness, I’d like to (finally) announce the two MARVELOUS readers who won an AMAZING giveaway!!

Picture 1

Picture 3

Vangie

Picture 2

Picture 4

and Jordan!

Congrats ladies!! Email me (laceybug96[at]gmail[dot]com)  with your name, email, address, and flavor choices and I will send it on to Amazing Grass for your prizes!!

And now, onto the marvelousness!!

Marvelous is…1391822_655966667759657_824858009_nFall finally coming in full force to CA!! Its even below 65 degrees AND it rained last week!!  (hahaha thats such a big deal here!)Marvelous is…photo-12photo-13How amazing the kids at my school are! I’ve been having alot of trouble getting my YEA Club up and going, but I set up a table at our school’s Fiestaval the other night and look how much interest I got!! Students really do care!! I had this ‘magic wand’ poster for people to write on, pieces of PB&J with info on how a sandwhich can save the world (check out Well Fed World’s PB&J campaign), and a flyer with YEA’s tips for an Empowered Holiday. I’m so pumped to get back to school and get this REALLY moving now!!Marvelous is…photo-17pizza night. Sometimes it’s just gotta happen. My brother was over and said how his favorite childhood dinner was my mom’s BBQ chicken pizza she used to make, so we ordered a vegan pizza from Papa Murpheys (thin crust, BBQ sauce, all veggies no cheese/meat), and my mom topped it with BBQ tempeh (and beyond meat for brother) and homemade vegan ranch sauce. As much as we try to do healthy, homemade, whole foods etc, I have to admit this was pretty darn good. Memories are delicious.Marvelous is…photo-11Kabocha and apple butter. Cant. Get. Enough. Seriously. I roasted a large squash yesterday for me and my mom/bro. I ate a good third of it at lunch, noshed on left overs after work, and finished it off with my nighttime snack. I must have eaten at least half of the entire, very large squash yesterday. Woke up with MAJOR squash belly. Miiiiigggghhttt do it again today. #myaddiction. no wonder I’m orange…Marvelous is…photo-14Going up to Animal Place to celebrate the turkies and getting to see my baby Harold!! (thats not his real name, just what I call him haha). 2 years ago I saw him, a newly-rescued veal calf, then the next year I saw him again. Look how big he’s gotten!!! So cute!!!Marvelous is…1476345_662975853725405_1401181009_n1465399_662966460393011_506303025_nphoto-151455197_662915063731484_2104450893_nFamily all together for Thanksliving at the farm! // the newest member of Animal Place -he was so chatty!! <3  // the turkey’s feast!! //  The turkey I fed was really excited about the pie and pecked it right  out of my hand! I thought better than trying to pick it back up haha.Marvelous is…photo-16Finally having a free moment to finish my college apps!! Of course, this has been my view for the past few hours, but all I have left is revising my personal statements and then going over them one more time with my friend’s mom (who is a school counselor) before sending them off! I’m applying to UC Santa Barbara, UC Davis, UC Santa Cruz, Cal Poly SLO, and Sonoma State. They are due on Saturday so I’m a little anxious right now.photo-1Buutttt I’m excited to go to college and major in tree hugging. (I mean environmental studies) ;)Happy Monday!!

4 thoughts on “MIMM: Turkies, College, and Inspiration

  1. I still need to get on the apple butter+kabocha thing. I love roasted squash in things but I usually don’t eat it by itself–I think dipping it in apple butter would change that!

Leave a Reply

