WIAW!!

AAHHH! Its my 100th post!!! this is cool! I have a recipe coming for you soon :)

In other news happy Wednesday!!

 

Lets get to the eats!

photo 2-84

 

Vanilla cinnamon oats topped with strawberries and almonds

photo 5-46

 

Tropical smoothie (froz mango, bloobs, tropical VEGA, spinach) topped with granola

photo-160

 

Mixed banana berry smoothie topped with strawberry raspberry granola. These are my new favorite thing after eating an acai bowl almost every stinkin day in Southern California

photo-156

 

Of course, I could never let a perfectly good OIAJ opportunity go to waste! Peach, apple, blueberry oats with (homemade) almond butter

photo-161

 

My family had a spring roll bar for lunch the other day! Carrots, beets, cucumber and local 5 spice tofu. I had more than this, don’t worry :) It was just a pretty picture! And delicious in peanut sauce.

photo-162

 

Uhh, duh. Kabocha…What were you expecting? ;)

 

 

photo 3-74

 

On Fathers day I made a picnic for my dad and step siblings! I brought the fixins for sun butter and jelly sandwiches, grapes, carrot sticks, and freshly made chocolate chip cookies using this recipe. They were just slightly under baked and perfect :)

 

photo 5-47

 

Please, please tell me you’ve tried dipping grapes in nut butter. Its delicious and tastes like straight up PB&J. Especially if its peanut butter and those really dark, sweet purple grapes. Heaven. Ignore the nasty napkin ;)

 

photo 1-73

 

We had a vegan BBQ/Pot luck the other day! An assortment of spanish rice, quinoa salad, pasta salad, fruit and fresh veganic veggies, and a veggie dog. I think I am officially past the whole “transition foods” stage of veganism, because I didn’t really like the veggie dog. Any of that fake stuff-fake meat, fake cheese, etc just doesn’t appeal to me. I’d rather eat real food, thats not trying to be something its not. Superficial vegan food ;)

 

photo 2-76

 

Soy ice cream on the other hand, thats perfectly fine with me :) Especially with brownies and peanut butter cookie dough bites!

photo-168

 

Very rarely does a container of figs actually make it home. Everytime we buy them, my mom and I go through the whole display to find the most ripe ones, make our own little basket full, and eat them all on the car ride home. Its like a tradition ;) Also this fig was huge. I had to show you guys.

photo-169

 

Have you ever heard of a Santa Clause Melon? Its like a cross between cantaloupe and honeydew, and it looks like a green football on the outside. Anyway, I found it at WF and its delicious. I had it on a salad with Braggs Braggberry dressing (blueberry, raspberry, acai, gogi, grape, and ACV. Totes recreating it)


photo-165

 

 

Our weather was super weird a few days ago, and it went from 90′s to 60′s and raining in 2 days. Now its in the 90′s again and will be 106 on Monday. Ouch. Anyway, I just so happened to be sick on the rainy day, so I spent all day on the couch reading and ate a mug of split pea soup for lunch. If only I hadn’t been sick I would have been so cozy!


photo-164

 

 

 

 

Later that afternoon I decided I didn’t like being sick. I now believe in the healing powers of rest and green smoothies. I made a huge smoothie with santa clause melon, lemon, ginger, celery, cucumber, parsley and power greens lettuce mix. I tell you what, this sick affected my whole family for 3-4 days, and I was only sick for one. All Hail the Smoothie!!!

photo-163

Movie snack! Apple, puffins and almonds with warm vanilla milk (almond milk, stevia, and vanilla extract. A slightly healthier version of the vanilla milk I grew up making (read cows milk and spoonful upon heaping spoonful of sugar. Like sickly sweet. I know, great for a 5 year old before bedtime) and like better than hot cocoa!) I had this while watching Warm Bodies, which I highly recommend!!


photo-167

 

 

Island Portabella burgers with grilled pineapple and baked sweet potato fries on the side. This was delicious :)
photo-166

 

 

And here we have baked japanese sweet potato topped with cheater baked beans and coconut bacon, plus a side salad. How to make cheater baked beans: We followed Happy Herbivore’s recipe but on stovetop, and using kidney beans plus corn. Since we weren’t actually going to bake them, we mashed the beans a bit and that thickened the whole dish up quite nicely! This was really really good!

photo-170

 

And last but not least, a bit of a sneak peak of that recipe I will be sharing shortly!! Doesn’t it look good???

Hehehe:)

Had any weird weather lately?

Whats your latest breakfast obsession?

8 thoughts on “WIAW!!

  1. whoa there. puffins are life. all of this looks soooo delicious! I agree about the fake meat stuff…not as appealing anymore! There are so many ways to recreate nasty meat products without the need of nasty non-meat products!

  2. The same thing happened to me the green smoothie! I was so sick with a really bad cold on Sunday during a long carride home from vacation, and when I got home that evening I made a simple green smoothie and the next day I felt 10000x better! :)

Leave a Reply

